Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HSAS Library Website: NYPL Online Resources

New York Public Library (NYPL) Online Databases

These databases are at www.nypl.org. Go to the Research section, and then the Articles and Databases section.

Access requires an NYPL library card number and PIN/password. To obtain these online, go to https://www.nypl.org/help/library-card.

NYPL electronic resources

NYPL has a rich collection of electronic resources (databases) that can be accessed remotely (while others must be accessed from an NYPL location). To try to find a database that could be helpful for your research, search the databases on the Articles and Databases page.

The three largest and most comprehensive databases for both scholarly and popular books and articles:

Academic Search Premier

ProQuest Research Library

Gale Power Search

The two top reference databases (encyclopedia articles on a huge number of subjects) — for background information

Credo Reference

Oxford Reference

Resources Specifically for High School Students

A list of resources of interest to high school students

How to get research help from a librarian

Librarians are available to help you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year through the Lehman College library chat service. Real, live, human librarians are available there to help you with your research at any and every time. You can also make an appointment to get extended one-on-one help from a Lehman College librarian. Here is a list of Lehman librarians. Find the one that matches your subject and email them to ask for an appointment.

You can also chat with NYPL librarians, Monday through Friday, 10 AM to 6 PM at this link. Or you can speak with someone by phone. Dial 917-ASK-NYPL (917-275-6975), Monday through Saturday from 10 am to 6 pm. You can also make an appointment with an NYPL research librarian at this link.