Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literacy

This guide provides an overview of literacy resources located through the Leonard Lief Library at Lehman College.

Welcome to the Video Tutorial: Find Articles for Literacy Research

Hello Lehman students. Sending you all good wishes.

The videos and activities below have been created to help you be able to search for articles on your topic in the Education Source database using selected journals.

Good luck with your searches. Feel free to email me (alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu) with any questions.

With warm regards,

Alison Lehner-Quam

Education Librarian

Video Tutorial: Getting Started with your Research

The handouts below can be helpful planning documents for you as you plan your search. Use the Inquiry Wheel handout to develop your topic further and to brainstorm components of your search.

Use the Search Planning handout to plan your key words and search strategies.

Watch the Inquiry Process video for background information on the iterative nature of research.

Watch the "Searching Databases with Keywords" video and then use the "Planning Your Search" document to map out your search.

Video Tutorial: Searching the Education Source Database

Click below on Education Source to access the database for this session. You will need to login using your CUNYFirst Credentials (which are the same credentials for Blackboard).

Now that you have logged into the Education Source database, watch "Searching the Education Source Database" for database searching information. You will also learn how to email yourself an article in pdf format with an APA citation embedded in the email.

Now use the search plan to conduct your own search of selected journals in the Education Source database. If you have any questions, you can log into the 24/7 chat service or email Lehman Education Librarian Alison Lehner-Quam (alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu).

Search Strategies