Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literacy

This guide provides an overview of literacy resources located through the Leonard Lief Library at Lehman College.

New Picture Books at Lehman

Each year we add new books to the Juvenile Collection in the Leonard Lief Library. These are some of the newest titles in the collection:

OneSearch

Advanced Search What am I searching?


Searching for Books for Children and Young Adults in OneSearch

To search for books for children and young adults at Lehman College:

Select OneSearch--Advanced Search

In the First Search Box change: "ISBN" to: "Subject heading"

Then type in a subject of interest to you,  e.g.: 

Alphabet, Art, Board books, Counting, Environment, Families, Grandparents, Readers, Stories in rhyme, Stories without words

In the Second Search Box type: "Juvenile Works"

Then select the following Filters: Library--Lehman College, Resource Type--Books

This will your limit your results to books in Lehman's Juvenile Collection.

You can Sort by Date (Most Recent) to find current books.

Browsing the Juvenile Collection

Fiction

Within each classification number (e.g. PZ7) works are organized by the author’s last name.

Classification Number Contents
PZ 7 Fiction by authors whose first works were published between 1870 and 2014
PZ 7.1 Fiction by authors whose first works are published in 2015 and beyond
Other PZ Class. Numbers Contents
PZ 5  Collections of works by different authors
PZ 7.5  Novels in verse
PZ 8    Traditional fairy tales
​PZ 8.1  Folklore and legends
PZ 8.2  Fables
PZ 8.3  Nursery rhymes and stories in rhyme
Higher PZ numbers  Juvenile fiction in languages other than English

Non-Fiction

Classification Number Contents
A General works
B Philosophy. Psychology. Religion
C Auxiliary sciences of history
D World history and history of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.
E & F History of the Americas
G Geography. Anthropology. Recreation
H Social sciences
J & K Political science & Law
L Education
M  & N Music & Fine arts
P Language and literature (Criticism, Plays, Short Stories, Poetry)
Q Science
R Medicine
S Agriculture
T Technology
U  & V       Military science & Naval science
Z   Bibliography. Library science. Information resources

Children's Book Locations and Spine Label Designations

Shelving Locations

Bilingual-Bicultural Literacy Collection:  Books are shelved in the first two shelf ranges of the Juvenile Collection.

Juvenile Graphic Section: This section is shelved by the Library Education office (Room 318).

Identity Collection: Also shelved near Room 318.

Wordless Picture Books: Books are shelves adjacent to the Bilingual-Bicultural Literacy Collection, in the 2nd shelf range of the Juvenile Collection

Historic Children’s Books Books are shelved on the north wall of the Juvenile Collection.

Book Spine Labels

Award-winning Books: Gold dot on the spine.

Books with Spanish: Green dot on the spine.

Graphic Novels: Black and yellow tape on the spine.

Identity Collection: 1/2 orange dot on the spine.

LGBTQ Collection: Small orange dot on the spine.

Wordless Picture Books: Light green dot on the spine.

Historic Children’s Books: Blue tape on the spine.