Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literacy

This guide provides an overview of literacy resources located through the Leonard Lief Library at Lehman College.

Research Begins

Good Starting Points for Research:

  • Encyclopedias and handbooks have excellent background articles with bibliographies.
  • Use these books for definitions and to find vocubulary for search terms.

Reference eBooks Database

Handbooks and books on Literacy in Library

Located on the 3rd Floor of Leonard Lief Library

Handbook of early childhood literacy. London : SAGE, 2003. Lehman College Education Reference - LB1139.5 .L35 H36 2003

Handbook of early literacy research / edited by Susan B. Neuman and David K. Dickinson. New York : Guilford Press, 2003. Lehman College Education Reference LB1139.5 .L35 H37 2001 v. 1-2 Non Circulating

Handbook of reading research / edited by Michael L. Kamil ... [et al.]. Mahwah, New Jersey : Lawrence Erlbaum, 2000. Lehman College Education Reference LB1050 H278 2000 v.3 Non Circulating

Handbook of research on literacy and diversity / edited by Lesley Mandel Morrow, Robert Rueda, and Diane Lapp. New York : Guilford Press, c2009. Lehman College Education Reference LB1576 .H2337 2009 Non Circulating

Rethinking identity and literacy education in the 21st century / edited by Sandra Schamroth Abrams and Jennifer Rowsell. New York : Teachers College, Columbia University [2011]. Lehman College Education Reference LB5 .N25 110th pt. 1 Non Circulating

Vukelich, Carol. Helping young children learn language and literacy : birth through kindergarten. Boston : Pearson/Allyn and Bacon, c2008. Education LB1140.5 .L3 V85 2008