Skip to main content

Literacy: Books

This guide provides an overview of literacy resources located through the Leonard Lief Library at Lehman College.

OneSearch

OneSearch
Use this search box to find books, articles, ebooks, and media.
 
What am I searching?  

CUNY+

Search the CUNY+ Online Catalog to find books, multimedia materials, and other resources.


| Guided Search | My Account

Digital Reference Books: Overview & Background Information

Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks are excellent sources to get an introduction or overview on a topic, and to find search terms.

Handbooks and books on Literacy in Library

Located on the 3rd Floor of Leonard Lief Library

Handbook of early childhood literacy. London : SAGE, 2003. Lehman College Education Reference - LB1139.5 .L35 H36 2003

Handbook of early literacy research / edited by Susan B. Neuman and David K. Dickinson. New York : Guilford Press, 2003. Lehman College Education Reference LB1139.5 .L35 H37 2001 v. 1-2 Non Circulating

Handbook of reading research / edited by Michael L. Kamil ... [et al.]. Mahwah, New Jersey : Lawrence Erlbaum, 2000. Lehman College Education Reference LB1050 H278 2000 v.3 Non Circulating

Handbook of research on literacy and diversity / edited by Lesley Mandel Morrow, Robert Rueda, and Diane Lapp. New York : Guilford Press, c2009. Lehman College Education Reference LB1576 .H2337 2009 Non Circulating

Rethinking identity and literacy education in the 21st century / edited by Sandra Schamroth Abrams and Jennifer Rowsell. New York : Teachers College, Columbia University [2011]. Lehman College Education Reference LB5 .N25 110th pt. 1 Non Circulating

Vukelich, Carol. Helping young children learn language and literacy : birth through kindergarten. Boston : Pearson/Allyn and Bacon, c2008. Education LB1140.5 .L3 V85 2008

Book Search Terms--Literacy

The following search terms and phrases may help you find books on literacy topics:

Elementary education of adults

Composition (Language arts)

Language and culture

Language and education

Language policy

Literacy

Reading

Reading (Adult Education)

Reading comprehension

Word recognition

Using CLICS to Request a Book from Another CUNY Library