Research Guides: Market Research Guide: Databases

Company/Industry/Market Research Databases

Business Insights
Brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry information, as well as company case studies.
Business Source Complete
A comprehensive resource. Provides 1,300 scholarly and business journals covering management, accounting, marketing and baking. SWOT analyses and company and industry reports also available. For Case Studies on companies, select "Case Studies" from the dropdown menu.
Hoover's Online

Covers public, private, and international companies. Includes overviews, major industry trends, industry links, and IPO information.

Statista
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
NAICS Codes
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Entrepreneurship
Compilation of subject-appropriate periodicals focusing on various aspects of small business. Coverage is from 1980 to present.

Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure
Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
Wall Street Journal via ProQuest
Full text of the Wall Street Journal from 2010 to present.
See Search Tip under tab for Newspapers.

PrivCo
PrivCo is a resource for business and financial research. It is particularly strong for research of privately-held companies, both small and large. The resource includes information on family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies. This database currently includes profiles for over 900,000 companies, 20,000 private equity and venture capital firms and investors, and 100,000 private market deals.
You will need to create an account to access this database. Once created, use this account whenever accessing PrivCo.