Counselor Education - Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Provides full-text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning 1987 to present. Includes more than 35,000 full-text articles from 49 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included are indexed in PsycINFO.

Version published in 2013.

Version published in 2014.

The handbook helps clinicians and students learning the process of psychiatric diagnosis improve their skill in formulating a comprehensive differential diagnosis by providing a variety of approaches. These include a six-step diagnostic framework, 29 bottom-up 'decision trees', and 66 differential diagnosis tables for use once a tentative diagnosis has been made. It offers a solution to differential diagnosis that recognizes the complexity of human personality and the structural utility of the DSM-5 classification

DSM-5® Handbook of the Cultural Formulation Interview provides the background, context, and detailed guidance necessary to train clinicians in the use of the Cultural Formulation Interview (CFI), which was created as part of the 2007-2013 DSM revision process. The purpose of the CFI -- and this unique handbook -- is to make it easier for providers to account for the influence of culture in their clinical work to enhance patient-clinician communication and improve outcomes.

DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases clarifies and discusses psychiatric diagnosis with a particular focus on how diagnoses have evolved from DSM-5. Designed for teachers, students, and clinicians, this book presents a broad range of patient vignettes that cover the diagnostic waterfront.

Each of the 104 cases is followed by a discussion by an expert clinician, who describes an approach to diagnosis through an exploration of psychiatric and personal history, symptom clusters, laboratory tests, and clinical ambiguities. The discussants also address the important ways in which diagnosis might be affected by such demographic issues as ethnicity, sexual orientation, and gender identity.

A streaming videos library of 50 training videos featuring the leading practitioners of the psychology field.

Features more than 1,600,000 records with sociology subject headings from 15,600-term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 720 core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Covers broad range of studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work.

From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.

Since 1999, The HistoryMakers has been recording African American oral histories to refashion a more inclusive record of American history and to educate and enlighten millions worldwide.

Multi-disciplinary database containing full-text journals in disciplines such as history, economics, Asian Studies, classics, archeology, ecology, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population, sociology, and statistics, as well as core titles in African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies. Journals are complete runs, starting with the first issue through the most recent year that has been digitized so far. 

Provides access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, comprising over 800,000 articles. With coverage from 1999 to present for most titles, this collection covers wide range of topics including communication studies, education, health science, political science, psychology, sociology, as well as other areas of social sciences, humanities, sciences, technology, and medicine.

Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Search the worlds leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns
 

Anyone with a valid CUNY email address can sign up for free access to the NYTimes.com website and apps. It also means that you can cancel your personal subscription to NYTimes.com! (But first read the Restrictions section below to make sure you want to cancel.)

How to Register for Your Free Academic Pass:

Go to nytimes.com/passes
Click Register to create a NYTimes.com account using your cuny.edu email address. If you already have a NYTimes account (free or paid) associated with your CUNY email, you need to unlink your CUNY email from that account before signing up for your Academic Pass. Log in to NYTimes.com, click your Username in the top right corner, select My Account, and replace your CUNY address with a non-CUNY one. You can then use your CUNY address to register for your pass.
At the bottom of the Welcome page, click Continue. You will be prompted to check your email. Watch for the confirmation message, which should arrive within 15 minutes.
Click the link in the confirmation email. This will simultaneously verify your eligibility and grant your Academic Pass, which will provide access to NYTimes.com for 52 weeks.
If you don't get the confirmation email, check your spam filter. If you still do not receive it, send an email from your CUNY email account to edu@nytimes.com.
Ongoing Use: Once you have activated your Academic Pass, you should have full access for 52 weeks (364 days) with no further action on your part. If you see a message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, youre probably not logged in. Simply log back in.
Renewal: As people who have signed up reach their one-year anniversary, their passes will expire, and they will start seeing the article counter again. Then, after accessing 10 articles, they will be prompted to subscribe or log in. When this happens to you, just go to https://nytimes.com/passes and sign in as an existing subscriber to enjoy another free year of access to the digital New York Times. 
Apps: Your Academic Pass includes access to the NYTimes apps. Once you have registered your Academic Pass, you can access nytimes.com on most web-capable devices.

Canceling a Personal Subscription: To cancel your personal subscription, call NYTimes customer service at 1-800-NYTIMES or, if you subscribed through iTunes, follow these instructions. There may be other things you have to do, depending on the device you have been using to read the NYTimes. If you had an annual subscription, you will receive a refund for the unused portion of the year. If you had a monthly subscription, you will not receive a refund for the month in which you cancel.

Anyone with a valid CUNY email address can sign up for free access to the Wall Street Journal website and apps.
How to Register for Your Free Membership:
Go to wsj.com/membership
You will need to sign in each time you use it with your membership. 
1. Professor/Staff Membership Expiration
All professors & staff retain WSJ membership for one year after activating. After that, they will have to re-activate their membership. 
2. Student Membership Expiration
When a student activates their membership, they are required to input their graduation date & year. This is their membership expiration date. If they graduate later than expected and lose access, they can always re-activate their membership.