Counselor Education - Clinical Mental Health Counseling

"Fewer concepts in American society have received more attention recently than the need for skilled crisis intervention. Images of crises inundate internet and newspaper headlines, television screens and mobile devices. As a result of the growing amount of acute crisis events portrayed in themedia that impact the lives of the general public, interest in crisis intervention, response teams, management, and stabilization has grown tremendously. Skills and methods to effectively manage acute crisis situations are in high demand. While many claim to understand the rapidly growing demand foreffective crisis management, few provide clearly outlined step-by-step processes to educate and guide health and mental health professionals. This is a thorough revision of the first complete and authoritative handbook that prepares the crisis counselor for rapid assessment and timely crisisintervention in the 21st century.Expanded and fully updated, the Crisis Intervention Handbook: Assessment, Treatment, and Research, Fourth Edition will focus on crisis intervention services for persons who are victims of natural disasters, school-based and home-based violence, violent crimes, and personal or family crises. Itapplies a unifying model of crisis intervention, making it appropriate for front-line crisis workers-clinical psychologists, social workers, psychiatric-mental health nurses, and graduate students who need to know the latest steps and methods for intervening effectively with persons in acute crisis."

"A guide to treating mental health issues in children and adolescents Diagnosis and Treatment of Children and Adolescents: A Guide for Mental Health Professionals is a resource tailored to the particular needs of current and future counselors, behavioral healthcare clinicians, and other helping professionals working with this vulnerable population. With in-depth content broken into two sections, this book first provides a foundation in the diagnostic process by covering the underlying principles of diagnosis and treatment planning, and then applies this framework to the DSM-5 categories related to children and adolescents. With research continually reshaping our understanding of mental health, it is critical mental health professionals make decisions based on evidence-based pathways that include the specialized research around children and adolescents. The leading experts who contributed to this book share contemporary perspectives on developmental considerations, assessment information, presenting symptoms, comorbidity, levels of severity, prevalence data, and other relevant factors. Structured content of chapters provides a crosswalk between the DSM-5 and this book Updated content based upon the changes, additions, and revisions to the DSM-5 that affect diagnosis, assessment, and treatment Pedagogical features, such as learning objectives, case studies, guided practice exercises, and additional resources, to support effective learning Diagnosis and Treatment of Children and Adolescents: A Guide for Clinical and School Settings is a critical resource for mental health practitioners and graduate students working toward a career in a mental health profession."

"Written for an audience that includes private practitioners; counselors working in mental health centers, psychiatric hospitals, employee assistance programs, and other community settings; as well as counselor educators and their students, this helpful guide breaks down the concepts and terminology in the DSM-5 and explains how this diagnostic tool translates to the clinical situations encountered most frequently by counselors. After describing the major structural, philosophical, and diagnostic changes in the DSM-5, the book is organized into four parts, which are grouped by diagnostic similarity and relevance to counselors. Each chapter outlines the key concepts of each disorder, including major diagnostic changes; essential features; special considerations; differential diagnosis; coding, recording, and specifiers; and, where applicable, new or revised criteria. Clinical vignettes help both clinicians and students visualize and understand DSM-5 disorders."

"The Handbook of Multicultural Mental Health, Second Edition, discusses the impact of cultural, ethnic, and racial variables for the assessment, diagnosis, treatment, service delivery, and development of skills for working with culturally diverse populations. Intended for the mental health practitioner, the book translates research findings into information to be applied in practice. The new edition contains more than 50% new material and includes contributions from established leaders in the field as well as voices from rising stars in the area. It recognizes diversity as extending beyond race and ethnicity to reflect characteristics or experiences related to gender, age, religion, disability, and socioeconomic status. Individuals are viewed as complex and shaped by different intersections and saliencies of multiple elements of diversity. Chapters have been wholly revised and updated, and new coverage includes indigenous approaches to assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of mental and physical disorders; spirituality; the therapeutic needs of culturally diverse clients with intellectual, developmental, and physical disabilities; suicide among racial and ethnic groups; multicultural considerations for treatment of military personnel and multicultural curriculum and training. Foundations-overview of theory and models Specialized assessment in a multicultural context Assessing and treating four major culturally diverse groups in clinical settings Assessing and treating other culturally diverse groups in clinical settings Specific conditions/presenting problems in a cultural context Multicultural competence in clinical settings"

"This handbook provides a succinct introduction to child mental health, covering the nature, prevalence, treatment and management of mental health problems in children and young people. The authors explore a range of issues surrounding the emotional needs of young people, showing how specific problems such as ADHD and learning difficulties can be targeted, while also recognising diversity issues and paying particular attention to at-risk groups. This edition is updated to reflect current direction in services, cutting edge approaches to interventions in primary health care, teaching and social service settings, as well as incorporating children's views on what mental health means to them and the impact of social media. Setting out ways in which young people can be supported by all practitioners in primary care, and covering early years through to late adolescence, the authors have created an invaluable resource for any front-line practitioner working in this area."

"This Handbook gathers together empirical and theoretical chapters from leading scholars and clinicians to examine the broad issue of adult mental health. The contributors draw upon data from a variety of contexts to illustrate the multiple ways in which language as action can assist us in better understanding the discursive practices that surround adult mental health. Conversation and discourse analysis are useful, related approaches for the study of mental health conditions, particularly when underpinned by a social constructionist framework. In the field of mental health, the use of these two approaches is growing, with emergent implications for adults with mental health conditions, their practitioners, and/or their families. Divided into four parts; Reconceptualising Mental Health and Illness; Naming, Labelling and Diagnosing; The Discursive Practice of Psychiatry; and Therapy and Interventions; this Handbook provides a comprehensive overview of current debates regarding adult mental health."

"This award-winning, bestselling reference for professional counselors and graduate students is extensively updated and expanded to encompass critical developments that are immediately relevant to the counseling professions, including the 2014 American Counseling Association Code of Ethics, CACREP/CORE accreditation standards, the updated DSM-5, the Affordable Care Act, and many other important changes. It reflects the ongoing consolidation of a strong identity for professional counselors and the need to address mental health and other counseling concerns amid marked sociocultural changes. The only resource of its kind, it is an extremely useful guide for counseling students working toward licensure and certification as well as experienced counselors, counselor educators, clinical supervisors, psychologists, and social workers. The second edition offers a unique interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines and features contributions from over 110 highly regarded experts in counselor education, research, and practice. It is based on the core content and knowledge areas outlined by CACREP and CORE accreditation standards and disseminates, in 93 chapters, both contemporary insight and practical strategies for working with the complexity of real-life issues related to assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of diverse clients. New chapters address military and veteran health issues; evidence-based practice for training; counseling transgender individuals, partners, and families; counseling caregivers; social justice; and much more. In addition to being a quick-access resource for all counseling professionals, the second edition serves as a concise, accessible reference for graduate students preparing for certification and licensure exams. It features an expanded, comprehensive self-exam of 340 multiple-choice items based on the CACREP/CORE foundational content and knowledge areas for counselor education and training. New to the Second Edition: Updated and expanded discussion of ethical issues, including the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics Affordable Care Act and its impact on delivery of mental health services Coverage of DSM-5 Promotes an interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines Includes an expanded self-exam with 340 study questions for National Counselor Examination for Licensure and Certification (NCE) and Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE) prep New chapters on military and veteran mental health issues New chapters on evidence-based practices for counseling, social justice, and behavioral health and health disparities in the United States New chapters on counseling caregivers, children with psychiatric conditions, and survivors of natural disasters New chapter on counseling for wellness New information on complementary, alternative, and integrative approaches New information on counseling LGBTQ couples, partners, and families Key Features: Covers all key foundational content for CACREP/CORE-accredited programs within one volume."