Research Guides: Biography: Databases & Articles

Databases for Biographical Information

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983
Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983 contains a comprehensive and significant listing of biographical content. It includes interviews and profiles of history-makers, including actors, artists, business people, educators, military leaders, politicians, religious leaders, scientists, sports figures, statesmen, teachers, and writers.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography. It also includes content from Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography, Biographies from Columbia University Press, Congressional biographies from American Reference Library, Biographies from Encyclopedia Britannica, Hutchinson's Biography Database, Profiles of United States presidents and, Biographies from Salem Press.
Biography Reference Source
Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture provides monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. Almost twenty percent of the collection has not been published previously.
Gale Ebooks
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, dictionaries and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. it is an excellent resource for general overviews.
Literature Resource Center
The Literature Resource Center provides access to biographical, bibliographical and contextual information from the Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literacy Criticism Select databases. Also available are more than 285,000 full-text journal articles, 38,000 critical essays, 122,000 author biographies, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
New York Times: Historical Newspapers
The New York Times (1851-2017) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Nexis Uni
Provides access to full-text information from over 10,000 sources, including: national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. This database also provides access to U.S. Federal and state case law, legal news, law reviews, international legal information and Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases.
Oxford Art Online
Provides web access to entire text of Turners Dictionary of Art, as well as Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Also included are images from ARTstor, Bridgeman Art Library, British Museum, Museum of Modern Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians [2nd edition], New Grove Dictionary of Opera, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz [2nd edition], Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music [2nd edition].
Oxford Reference Online
Provides full-text access to 100+ separate reference works published by Oxford University Press. Subject areas covered: architecture, art, biology, business, classics, computer science, earth and environmental sciences, economics, English dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri, English language reference, food and nutrition, general resources, history, law, literature, mathematics, medicine, military history, modern languages, mythology and folklore, physical sciences, political science, performing arts, philosophy, religion, social sciences, and theater.
Project Muse
Offers nearly 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Social Sciences Full Text
Selected scholarly periodicals in social sciences [anthropology, political science, sociology, geography, and economics]. Coverage: 1983-present.
Something About the Author
Access to all volumes ever printed in Something About the Author, the main series, and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series. More than 210 volumes, more than 19,000 entries and nearly 17,000 images.
Women and Social Movements in the U.S., 1600-2000
This resource is for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. It is organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.

E-Journals Finder

Choose 'Title contains all words'
Type "biography"
Search

Off-Campus Access

From off-campus, Lehman users will be prompted to log into databases, e-journals, e-books, and other subscription resources via their CUNYFirst Credentials.

Your CUNYFirst Credentials are the same as your BlackBoard/Brightspace Credentials.

To login, enter your CUNY Login Credentials, which are you CUNYFirst or BlackBoard Credentials
You must have an active CUNY First Account
To report a problem, please select Forget Username or Forget Password
If you do not have CUNYFirst credentials and should have off-campus access, please fill the report a technical problem form