Skip to Main Content

Biography

Find primary and secondary resources on people including books, articles, documentaries, videos and web resources.

Specialized Biographical Resources

American men & women of science [electronic resource] : a biographical directory of today’s leaders in physical, biological, and related sciences by Andrea Kovacs Henderson, project editor
Call Number: CUNY - WEB Resource - Access: for all CUNY Users
Contemporary authors by Contemporary authors (1981)
Call Number: Lehman College - Reference - Z1224 .C6 1981
Dictionary of literary biography. Yearbook. by Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., 1981-
Call Number: Lehman College - Reference - PN451 .D542
Dictionary of literary biography. Documentary series. by Gale Research Company.
Call Number: Lehman College - Reference - PN451 .D541

French Biographical Resources: Current

Who’s who in France by Paris : J. Lafitte, c1955-
Call Number: Lehman College - WEB Resource - For Lehman users or on site

German Biographical Resources: Current

Who’s who in Germany. by Munich, Intercontinental Book and Publishing Co.
Call Number: Lehman College - Stacks - DD85 .W45

Indexes and Guides to Biographical Sources

Biography Index by New York: H.W. Wilson Co.
Call Number: Lehman College - Periodicals -
Index to Women of the World from Ancient to Modern Times by Norma O. Ireland
Call Number: Lehman College - Reference - HQ1123 .I73 1970
ISBN: 0810820927
Publication Date: 1989-10-01

American Biographical Sources: Current

Who’s who in America by Chicago, Marquis Who’s Who [etc.]
Call Number: Lehman College - Stacks - E663 .W56 Note: Latest only in Ref - Earlier circ
Who’s who in the East; a biographical dictionary of leading men and women of the eastern United States. by Chicago, A. N. Marquis.
Call Number: Lehman College - Stacks - E176 .W643 Note: Subscription cancelled.
Who’s who in the Midwest. by Chicago, Marquis-Who’s Who.
Call Number: Lehman College - Stacks - E747 .W63 Note: Subscription cancelled.
Who’s who in the South and Southwest. by Chicago, Marquis Who’s Who.
Call Number: Lehman College - Stacks - E176 .W645 Note: Subscription cancelled.
Who’s who among black Americans. by Northbrook, Ill., Who’s who among black Americans, inc., Pub. Co.
Call Number: Lehman College - Stacks - E185.96 .W52
Who’s who of American women. by Chicago, Marquis Who’s Who, inc.
Call Number: Lehman College - Stacks - E176 .W647 Note: subscription cancelled as of 2001
Who's who in the West by Chicago, Ill. : Marquis Who's Who, Inc.
Call Number: Lehman College - Reference - F595 .W64 Note: Subscription cancelled

American Biographical Sources: Retrospective

Appleton’s cyclopaedia of American biography. by Edited by James Grant Wilson and John Fiske. New York, Appleton, 1888.
Call Number: Lehman College - Reference - E176 .A666
Dictionary of American biography. by American council of Learned Societies
Call Number: Lehman College - Reference - E176 .D563
Dictionary of American Negro biography by Rayford W. Logan and Michael R. Winston
Call Number: Lehman College - Reference - E185.96 .L6 1982
The National cyclopaedia of American biography by New York : J.T. White, 1898-
Call Number: Lehman College - Reference - E176 .N28
Notable American women, 1607-1950; a biographical dictionary. by Edward T. James, editor. Janet Wilson James, associate editor. Paul S. Boyer, assistant editor.
Call Number: Lehman College - Reference - CT3260 .N57
Who was who in America. by Chicago, Marquis-Who’s Who [etc.]
Call Number: Lehman College - Reference - E176 .W64

NYPL

Biography in Context
Use this link to choose a person whose biography interests you. You will need a New York Public Library card to gain access.

International Biographical Sources: Current

The International who’s who by London, Europa Publications Ltd.
Call Number: Lehman College - Stacks - CT120 .I5
The New York Times biographical edition by New York, Arno Press
Call Number: Lehman College - Stacks - CT120 .N45
Who’s who in the world by Chicago, Marquis Who’s Who, Inc.
Call Number: Lehman College - Stacks - CT120 .W5

International Biographical Sources: Retrospective

Biographie universelle, ancienne et moderne by Frères Michaud
Call Number: Lehman College - Special Collections - CT143 .M5
Universal pronouncing dictionary of biography and mythology by J. Thomas
Call Number: Lehman College - Reference - CT103 .L7 1873