Research Guides: Organizational Leadership: Find Journals and Articles

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines, formats, and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Google Scholar sorts articles weighing the fulltext of each article, author, publication in which article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

If you encounter issues off-campus, use the regular https://scholar.google.com link.
Go to settings, select Library Links, do a search for Lehman, save it. Then perform a new search. You should see results with Full Text at Lehman.
Go to https://libguides.lehman.edu/google/scholar for more information.
History Makers Digital Archive
Since 1999, The HistoryMakers has been recording African American oral histories to refashion a more inclusive record of American history and to educate and enlighten millions worldwide.
JSTOR
Multi-disciplinary database containing full-text journals in disciplines such as history, economics, Asian Studies, classics, archeology, ecology, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population, sociology, and statistics, as well as core titles in African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies. Journals are complete runs, starting with the first issue through the most recent year that has been digitized so far.
Sage Journals Online Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, comprising over 800,000 articles. With coverage from 1999 to present for most titles, this collection covers wide range of topics including communication studies, education, health science, political science, psychology, sociology, as well as other areas of social sciences, humanities, sciences, technology, and medicine.
Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Watch a recorded demo of Sage Research Methods through the link below:

Sage Research Methods

Business and Management Databases

Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
Gale Economics and Theory provides academic journals and popular magazines focusing on topic of Economics. Some overlap with the EconLit database. Coverage from 1980 to the present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides fulltext of 1,300 scholarly business journals covering management, marketing, banking and accounting. SWOT analyses available on companies by searching SWOT and company name.
Business Insights
A fully integrated resource from Gale, bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Curent Issues Databases

CQ Researcher
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. The CQ Researcher web site offers online access to issues dating back to October 25, 1991.
Opposing Viewpoints
Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Education Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education, The
News, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Education Source
Full text for over 1,700 journals, indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, full text for conference papers, and more than 550 books and monographs, and citations for over 4 million articles, including book reviews.
ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a comprehensive education database going back to 1966. It covers education research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, books, and the published journal literature from over 980 education-related periodicals, many of which are available in full-text. Most ERIC documents from 1993 to date are available in full text.

Government and Statistics Databases

Legal Source This link opens in a new window
Definitive, full-text source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world, with more than 870 full-text journals with coverage dating back to 1908. Excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals, and others involved with the law.
Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database covers full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals and indexes and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
U.S. Government Budget
Collection of documents that contains budget message of President, information about President's budget proposals for given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout fiscal year.

Health Databases

CINAHL Complete
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete is a comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for 750 journals and 240 books with full-text coverage dating back to 1937. Offers access to nursing dissertations, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheets, research instruments, educational software, and audiovisuals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals included.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to index citations from more than 5,200 scholarly biomedical and life sciences journals.
Public Health Database
Ideal starting point for public health information for students, instructors, researchers, and professionals. Delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it full-text. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, and reports, it covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public health terminology.

Social Services Databases

Encyclopedia of Social Work
The Encyclopedia of Social Work, the first continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.
Social Sciences Full Text
Selected scholarly periodicals in social sciences [anthropology, political science, sociology, geography, and economics]. Coverage: 1983-present.
Social Work Abstracts
Produced by National Association of Social Workers, this database contains more than 45,000 records spanning 1977 to present from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Features more than 1,600,000 records with sociology subject headings from 15,600-term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 720 core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Covers broad range of studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work.

News Databases

News
More than 33.5 million full-text articles from more than 1,100 newspapers, including Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, The Financial Times (London), The New York Times, The Times (London), USA Today and many others.
New York Times (Nexis Uni)
Search full-text back to June 1st, 1980, search abstracts from January 1st, 1969 to May 31st, 1980.
Nexis Uni
Provides access to full-text information from over 10,000 sources, including: national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. This database also provides access to U.S. Federal and state case law, legal news, law reviews, international legal information and Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases.

Funder and Grants Research

Grant Forward
Offers thousands of grant opportunities gathered from over 9,000 U.S. Sponsors. Before using Grant Forward for the first time, you will need to register for an account. CUNY users will be recognized by their e-mail domains.
Pivot
Grants, internships, and graduate and post-graduate fellowships in all subject areas. Search by keyword; set alerts for relevant opportunities.
Requires Login.
Chronicle of Philanthropy, The
News source, for nonprofit leaders, fund raisers, grant makers, and other people involved in the philanthropic enterprise.

Video Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online (AVON) is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Kanopy
Streaming service that offers must-watch movies and videos, documentaries, and classic films. Includes the full Criterion Collection and selections from PBS.

How Faculty Can Request Streaming Media:

Go to Request Streaming Media
To see the current collection of subscribed titles, visit https://cuny-le.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/collectionDiscovery?vid=01CUNY_LE:CUNY_LE&collectionId=81124246680006134&lang=en
Psychotherapy.net
A streaming videos library of 50 training videos featuring the leading practitioners of the psychology field.

Organizational Leadership

Academic Journal? Scholarly Article? Article Database?

"Find-It!" & Inter Library Loan through ILLiad

Interlibrary Loan

General Databases

Business and Management Databases

Curent Issues Databases

Education Databases

Government and Statistics Databases

Health Databases

Social Services Databases

News Databases

Funder and Grants Research

Video Databases