Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerontology: Databases

Off-Campus Access

From off-campus, Lehman users will be prompted to log into databases, e-journals, e-books, and other subscription resources via their CUNYFirst Credentials.

Your CUNYFirst Credentials are the same as your BlackBoard Credentials. Using Firefox as your browser is recommended.

  • To login, enter your CUNY Login Credentials, which are you CUNYFirst or BlackBoard Credentials
  • You must have an active CUNY First Account
  • To report a problem, please select Forget Username or Forget Password 
  • If you do not have CUNYFirst credentials and should have off-campus access, please fill the report a technical problem form

Video Tutorials: Databases

JSTOR Search Help

Broad Academic Databases

Academic OneFile:  News publications such as Health and Medicine Week and articles from academic journals such as The Gerontologist and The Journals of Gerontology.

Academic Search Complete: Dozens of academic journals in gerontology, geriatrics, and related fields.

Annual Reviews: Journals reviewing each year's developments in psychology, anthropology, medicine, public health, biochemistry, pharmacology and toxicology, and other areas of science and social science.

Duke University Press Journals: Nearly 50 Duke journals, including the Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law.

EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service: Includes gerontology journals such as International Journal of Aging and Human Development.

JSTOR: More than 2,000 academic journals, with particular strength in back issues, as well as books and primary sources.

MasterFile Premier: Primarily academic journals, such as Gerontology and Geriatrics Education and Clinical Gerontologist, with some articles in general-interest magazines and newspapers.

Project Muse: Full-text articles from more than 550 peer-reviewed academic journals, such as the Canadian Journal on Aging, and more than 20,000 electronic books from a non-profit collaboration of libraries and publishers. 

Scopus: Abstracts and citations of more than 20,000 peer-reviewed journals, mainly scientific, technical, medical, and social science.

General-Interest Databases

General OneFile: Articles in general-interest periodicals, such as Women's Health Weekly and Managed Care Weekly

LexisNexis Academic: International, national and regional newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; and other media resources.

MasterFile Premier: Primarily academic journals, such as Gerontology and Geriatrics Education and Clinical Gerontologist, with some general-interest magazines and newspapers.

Reader's Guide With Full Text: General-interest publications like Science, Fortune, and Time.

Science Databases

Ebsco General Science: Scientific publications, both focused (Gerontologist) and general-interest (Science)

Nature: Weekly publication covering science broadly

Science Direct: Full-text articles from more than 750 scientific, medical, and technical journals.

SpringerLink: Scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, and reference works published by scientific publisher Springer Verlag.

Wiley Online: Full text of articles in scientific, medical, and technical journals published by Wiley and Blackwell.

Health/Medicine/Nursing Databases

CINAHL Plus With Full Text: Indexing and full text for 750 journals and 240 books in nursing, as well as nursing dissertations, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheets, research instruments, educational software, and audiovisuals.

Health Reference Center: News media and academic journals in health.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: Nursing journals, including Journals of Gerontology, Educational Gerontology, and Gerontologist.

Medline With Fulltext: Medical resources from the National Library of Medicine.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection: News publications such as Health and Medicine Week, nursing journals such as The Gerontologyst and The Journals of Gerontology, magazines, and books.

ProQuest Public Health: More than 400 publications in public health.

PubMed: Journals in the life sciences from the National Library of Medicine.

Wolters Kluwer: Ovid, Nursing and Social Work Resources: Nursing and social work journals such as the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society and Age and Ageing.

Social Science Databases

Soc INDEX With Full Text: More than 3,000 sociology journals, with concentrated coverage of about 400.

Social Sciences Full Text: More than 300 journals in the social sciences, including gerontology-related journals such as the Journal of Aging Studies.

Psychology Databases

Gale Psychology Collection: Academic journals in psychology, including gerontology-related journals such as the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society and the Journal of Gerontology, as well as magazines such as Psychology Today and Aging.

PsycARTICLES:  Full text of more than 100  journals in psychology and related fields such as education, nursing, business, and neuroscience, including the Journal of Gerontopsychology and Geriatric Psychology.

PsycINFO: Journals in psychology and related fields such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, business, nursing, forensics, and engineering. 

Journalism Databases

Gannett Newsstand: Newspapers owned by this leading media company.

Infotrac Newsstand: More than 1,000 newspapers, newswires, and other media.

New York Times in LexisNexis Academic: Full text from 1980.

Washington Post in LexisNexis Academic: Full text from 1977.

General Reference Sources

Gale Virtual Reference: Encyclopedias and other reference works in a broad range of fields, including more than 100 in medicine.

Oxford Reference: Dictionaries and other reference works in a broad range of fields.

Sage Reference Online: Wide-ranging reference works, including a social science library of more than 4,200 titles.

Focused Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Social Work: 400 articles from the National Association of Social Workers Press and Oxford University Press.

Sage Reference Online: Social science library of more than 4,200 titles.

Educational and Vocational Databases

Education Source: Academic journals, including gerontology-related publications such as Educational Gerontology, as well as magazines and other resources.

ERIC: Comprehensive database on education from the U.S. Department of Education.

Professional Development Collection: Academic journals on professional development, including gerontology-related publications such as Educational Gerontology and Social Work Education.

Vocations and Careers Collection: Academic journals such as Nursing Education Perspective, as well as magazine and other resources on career development.

Other Resources

Ebsco E-Books: Wide-ranging collection of E-Books, including more than 200 on gerontology.

Global Issues in Context: Journal articles, media resources, and reference works on major issues.

Google Scholar: Search engine covering scholarly literature.