Research Guides: General Science: Databases

Off-Campus Access

From off-campus, Lehman users will be prompted to log into databases, e-journals, e-books, and other subscription resources via their CUNYFirst Credentials.

Your CUNYFirst Credentials are the same as your BlackBoard/Brightspace Credentials.

To login, enter your CUNY Login Credentials, which are you CUNYFirst or BlackBoard Credentials
You must have an active CUNY First Account
To report a problem, please select Forget Username or Forget Password
If you do not have CUNYFirst credentials and should have off-campus access, please fill the report a technical problem form

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines, formats, and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, articles, and patents. Google Scholar sorts articles weighing the fulltext of each article, author, publication in which article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

Specialized Databases

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

ScienceDirect
Provides full-text access to over 4,000 journals primarily in areas of science, technology, social science, and medicine. The collection held by Lehman is the Freedom Collection. Click on "Browse" for lists of journals. Click on "Search" to search across journals.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Applied Science & Technology Source
Covering of a wide variety of applied science specialties—from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in US and Great Britain plus the full text of selected periodicals. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Full Text also covers The New York Times Science Section. Subjects covered: Astronomy, Atmospheric Science, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Conservation, Earth Science, Environment, Food, Genetics, Health, Mathematics, Medicine, Microbiology, Nutrition, Oceanography, Physics, Physiology, Zoology.

JSTOR Arts and Science
Full text of over two hundred and fifty journals in business, arts and sciences, language and literature, economics, political science, history, demographics, literature, philosophy, and various other fields in the social sciences and humanities. Journal coverage begins with the first issue of each journal, in some cases going as far back as the 1800s.
more...less...
Current journals are generally not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Oxford Reference Online
This resource provides full-text access to 100+ separate reference works published by Oxford University Press.
American Chemical Society This link opens in a new window
Web editions of American Chemical Society journals. Over 30 full-text journals and ACS Archives back to 1879.

Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Science Librarian

Stacy Katz

Email Me

Contact:

250 Bedford Park Blvd W
Bronx, NY 10468

718.960.7767

Subjects: Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Geology and Geography, Physics, Science

Ask Us! - New 24/7 Chat

Live chat 24/7