General Science: STEM

Downloadable teaching resource material created by the best science and technology experts and educators.

Futurity is an online research news magazine reporting the latest discoveries in science and technology from leading universities in the United States and Canada.

Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,200 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social & professional context.

Web editions of American Mathematical Society journals:
Bulletin of the AMS, Conformal Geometry and Dynamics, Electronic research Announcements, Journal of the AMS, Mathematics of Computation, Proceedings of the AMS, Representation Theory, Transactions of the AMS, Notices of the AMS

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and its affiliates publish hundreds of journals, magazines, newsletters, and conference proceedings. While most of the content is scholarly, peer-reviewed material appropriate for upper-level undergraduates or higher level students and researchers, much of the content is accessible to the non-computer scientist. Users should keep in mind that computers are used in virtually all disciplines and that many potentially useful articles are available throu

A subset of AIP's Scitation database, the ASA Digital Library contains the full text of articles and technical papers published in the journals and magazines of the Acoustical Society of America.

The American Geophysical Union, the premier scientific association for the geosciences, publishes these seven highly respected, peer-reviewed journals covering many aspects of the earth and atmospheric sciences: Journal of Geophysical Research (JGR); JGR Biogeosciences, JGR Atmospheres, JGR Earth surface, JGR Oceans, JGR Planets, JGR Solid earth, JGR Space physics.

The American Institute of Physics (AIP) publishes 11 journals and covering a limited range of topics in physics. Index and abstract information is available for all of these publications. Full text is available for 8 of the titles. All of the AIP journals are scholarly, peer-reviewed publications oriented toward senior or higher level readers.

The American Mathematical Society (AMS) is one of the world's premier mathematical organizations. The AMS serves as a professional society and fosters research and scholarship in mathematics at all levels. It also promotes 'awareness and appreciation of mathematics and its connections to other disciplines and to everyday life.' The AMS publishes seven journals of its own, as well as distributing a number of journals from other publishers and translating several important foreign language journals.

The American Physical Society (APS) publishes 11 journals and covering a full range of topics in physics. Index, abstracts, and full text is available for all of these publications. 8 of the APS journals are scholarly, peer-reviewed publications oriented toward senior or higher level readers.

The American Society for Microbiology (ASM) publishes 11 scholarly journals covering all areas of microbiology and immunology. Full text is available for all 11 titles. ASM journals are oriented toward the senior or higher level researcher.

ASA Digital Library
A subset of AIP's Scitation database, the ASA Digital Library contains the full text of articles and technical papers published in the journals and magazines of the Acoustical Society of America.

Covers scientific and technical publications. Topics included are: engineering, chemistry, computers, plastics, physics, metallurgy, telecommunications, transportations, acoustics and waste management. Periodicals cover trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized periodicals, as well as special issues such as buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings.

BioOne provides full text access to over 90 biology journals, published by or for small, regional, or specialized scholarly organizations. Nearly all of the content is scholarly, peer-reviewed papers; however, many of the journals contain news and review articles of more general interest. Education students and researchers should that BioOne includes some content on biology education.

BuildingGreen Suite gives information on green design in a membership-based website format. This online resource features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality. BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, high-quality articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, and more.

CogNet is a cognitive science site established by MIT. The CogNet Library includes the full text of seven peer-reviewed journals plus abstracts from 29 additional journals, full text of over 400 books and four major reference sources, as well as abstracts of hundreds of conference papers. All of the full text material is published by MIT Press. In general, all the material included within CogNet is very scholarly and is appropriate for upper level undergraduates or more advanced researchers.

The Cold Spring Harbor Symposia on Quantitative Biology is one of the most important conferences in the biological sciences. 'The primary motive of the conference symposia is to consider a given biological problem from its chemical, physical and mathematical, as well as from its biological aspects'

Company of Biologists is an open-access database consisting of three major biology journals: Development, Journal of Cell Science, and Journal of Experimental Biology, all of which are scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. This database is most appropriate for more advanced students and researchers.

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,200 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals.

Engineering Village is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering all aspects of engineering, including some computer science. It indexes over 5,000 sources, including magazine & peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, & more. Most of the material indexed is more appropriate for senior or higher level students and researchers, but some material (magazine articles, etc.) may be useful for lower level students and researchers.

IEL provides full text for the journals, transactions, & magazines of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (US) & the Institution of Engineering and Technology (UK), as well as full text of conference papers of both IEEE and IET, plus IEEE standards. While the content is almost entirely scholarly peer-reviewed material, several magazines of more general interest are part of the database.

The MathSciNet database indexes all fields of pure and applied mathematics, covering over 400 current journals. Organization of the database is highly technical and is based on the logical structure of mathematics. All entries include either authors' abstracts or reviews written by an independent reviewer. Many of the reviews include references to other papers.

Over 3,700 books are available for free online from the National Academies Press, which publishes reports by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.

Direct links to ScienceAccelerator.gov, Science.gov, and WorldWideScience.org are featured, as well as a listing of DOE databases by content type, such as the OSTI's Science Conference Proceedings Portal, which only lists conference proceedings.

The Optical Society of America (OSA) makes 13 journals (8 OSA titles plus 5 partner titles) available at this site, plus the full text of papers from over 70 conferences. All of the materials are scholarly, peer-reviewed publications oriented toward senior or higher level readers.

SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of full text of scientific journals on the Internet to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin American and Caribbean countries. These journals are predominantly in Spanish and cover Engineering, Letters, Psychology, Health Sciences, and more.

SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet. Especially conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries, it provides an efficient way to assure universal visibility and accessibility to their scientific literature, contributing to overcome the phenomena known as 'lost science'.

Virtual Journals in the Physical Sciences - Jointly developed by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Physical Society (APS), the Virtual Journals series is an online collection of relevant papers from a broad range of source journals in the physical sciences. Papers are selected from all journals published by APS and AIP, plus a number of journals from other publishers.