Interlibrary Loan (outside CUNY) for Books & Journal Articles
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.
A fully integrated resource from Gale, bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Gale Economics and Theory provides academic journals and popular magazines focusing on topic of Economics. Some overlap with the EconLit database. Coverage from 1980 to the present.
PrivCo is a resource for business and financial research on on-publicly traded companies, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies. This database currently includes profiles for over 900,000 companies, 20,000 private equity and venture capital firms and investors, and 100,000 private market deals.
You will need to create an account to access this database. Once created, use this account whenever accessing PrivCo.
News, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Ideal starting point for public health information for students, instructors, researchers, and professionals. Delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it full-text. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, and reports, it covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public health terminology.
Features more than 1,600,000 records with sociology subject headings from 15,600-term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 720 core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Covers broad range of studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work.
The Encyclopedia of Social Work, the first continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.
Produced by National Association of Social Workers, this database contains more than 45,000 records spanning 1977 to present from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
A resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. ARSTOR Collections reside on the JSTOR Platform.
Multi-disciplinary database containing full-text journals in disciplines such as history, economics, Asian Studies, classics, archeology, ecology, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population, sociology, and statistics, as well as core titles in African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies. Journals are complete runs, starting with the first issue through the most recent year that has been digitized so far.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
You may need to clear your browser cache to access this resource or use a browser in “private” or “incognito” mode.
If you experience difficulty using this resource, please fill out the following form:
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
Since 1999, The HistoryMakers has been recording African American oral histories to refashion a more inclusive record of American history and to educate and enlighten millions worldwide.
Multi-disciplinary database containing full-text journals in disciplines such as history, economics, Asian Studies, classics, archeology, ecology, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population, sociology, and statistics, as well as core titles in African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies. Journals are complete runs, starting with the first issue through the most recent year that has been digitized so far.
Provides access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, comprising over 800,000 articles. With coverage from 1999 to present for most titles, this collection covers wide range of topics including communication studies, education, health science, political science, psychology, sociology, as well as other areas of social sciences, humanities, sciences, technology, and medicine.
Provides full-text access to over 4,000 journals primarily in areas of science, technology, social science, and medicine. The collection held by Lehman is the Freedom Collection. Click on "Browse" for lists of journals. Click on "Search" to search across journals.
Search the worlds leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Reports.
Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns
Full-text versions of over 1600 journal titles comprising over 4 million articles. Collection focuses on science, technology, and medicine, though journals in humanities and social sciences are also present.
Grants, internships, and graduate and post-graduate fellowships in all subject areas. Search by keyword; set alerts for relevant opportunities.
Requires Login.
Provides access to full-text information from over 10,000 sources, including: national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. This database also provides access to U.S. Federal and state case law, legal news, law reviews, international legal information and Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases.
Provides fulltext articles from WSJ going back to 1984.
Anyone with a valid CUNY email address can sign up for free access to the NYTimes.com website and apps. It also means that you can cancel your personal subscription to NYTimes.com! (But first read the Restrictions section below to make sure you want to cancel.)
How to Register for Your Free Academic Pass:
Go to nytimes.com/passes
Click Register to create a NYTimes.com account using your cuny.edu email address. If you already have a NYTimes account (free or paid) associated with your CUNY email, you need to unlink your CUNY email from that account before signing up for your Academic Pass. Log in to NYTimes.com, click your Username in the top right corner, select My Account, and replace your CUNY address with a non-CUNY one. You can then use your CUNY address to register for your pass.
At the bottom of the Welcome page, click Continue. You will be prompted to check your email. Watch for the confirmation message, which should arrive within 15 minutes.
Click the link in the confirmation email. This will simultaneously verify your eligibility and grant your Academic Pass, which will provide access to NYTimes.com for 52 weeks.
If you don't get the confirmation email, check your spam filter. If you still do not receive it, send an email from your CUNY email account to edu@nytimes.com.
Ongoing Use: Once you have activated your Academic Pass, you should have full access for 52 weeks (364 days) with no further action on your part. If you see a message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, youre probably not logged in. Simply log back in.
Renewal: As people who have signed up reach their one-year anniversary, their passes will expire, and they will start seeing the article counter again. Then, after accessing 10 articles, they will be prompted to subscribe or log in. When this happens to you, just go to https://nytimes.com/passes and sign in as an existing subscriber to enjoy another free year of access to the digital New York Times.
Apps: Your Academic Pass includes access to the NYTimes apps. Once you have registered your Academic Pass, you can access nytimes.com on most web-capable devices.
Canceling a Personal Subscription: To cancel your personal subscription, call NYTimes customer service at 1-800-NYTIMES or, if you subscribed through iTunes, follow these instructions. There may be other things you have to do, depending on the device you have been using to read the NYTimes. If you had an annual subscription, you will receive a refund for the unused portion of the year. If you had a monthly subscription, you will not receive a refund for the month in which you cancel.
Anyone with a valid CUNY email address can sign up for free access to the Wall Street Journal website and apps.
How to Register for Your Free Membership:
Go to wsj.com/cuny
You will need to sign in each time you use it with your membership.
1. Professor/Staff Membership Expiration
All professors & staff retain WSJ membership for one year after activating. After that, they will have to re-activate their membership.
2. Student Membership Expiration
When a student activates their membership, they are required to input their graduation date & year. This is their membership expiration date. If they graduate later than expected and lose access, they can always re-activate their membership.
Academic Video Online (AVON) is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Streaming service that offers must-watch movies and videos, documentaries, and classic films. Includes the full Criterion Collection and selections from PBS.
How Faculty Can Request Streaming Media:
Go to Request Streaming Media
To see the current collection of subscribed titles, visit https://cuny-le.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/collectionDiscovery?vid=01CUNY_LE:CUNY_LE&collectionId=81124246680006134&lang=en
Learn about how to do advanced searching in the EBSCO subject databases by accessing the subject databases in the EDOL 911 and 912 Research Guide, combining subject databases, and using AND and OR to create powerful searches. Databases included in this video include: Business Source Complete, Education Source, ERIC, Social Sciences Full Text and SocINDEX with Full Text.
Many of the databases and discovery tools have ways for researchers to get alerts about new articles on your research topic. This video highlights the search alert function in the EBSCO databases (e.g. Education Source, Business Source Complete, SocINDEX with Full Text) and in Google Scholar.
With each database vendor, REGISTER in order to SAVE search strategies, search results and to set up ALERTS.