EDOL 911 and 912: Leaders as Scholars

"Case study research is described and the pros and cons are listed. Learn about Genie, a child that became the focus of many case studies."

"This resource for case study research provides a thorough overview of methods and design as guidance for students researchers and professionals who wish to incorporate case studies into a research project or programme."

This hands-on and user-friendly book uses illustrative case studies to demonstrate and explore the potential for change in real social situations. This book seeks to assert the academic integrity of action research and to de-mystify the process. Each chapter includes: - a ′how to′ section based on concrete examples and dilemmas - commentary that relates examples to the broader field - a discussion of the underlying theoretical approach - discussion and exploration of quality issues - discussion of ethical and pragmatic decision-making The mix of theoretical grounding and focus on real issues will be of benefit to Master′s level or advanced undergraduate students on Education and Research Methods courses or those undertaking Action Research as part of professional development activities. Mary McAteer is Director of the Mathematics Specialist Teacher (MaST) programme at Edge Hill University."

Comprehensive overview of the theoretical, conceptual, and applied/practical presentations of action research as it is found and conducted solely in educational settings The Wiley Handbook of Action Research in Education is the first book to offer theoretical, conceptual, and applied/practical presentations of action research as it is found and conducted solely in educational settings. Covering primarily PK-12 educational settings, the book utilizes a cross-section of international authors and presentations to provide global perspectives on action research in education. Part I of The Wiley Handbook of Action Research in Education focuses on various foundational aspects and issues related to action research. Part II is centered on chapters that present theories and principles that help to guide the use of action research in educational contexts. Part III focuses on specific applications of educational action research in practice. Part IV provides an outlet for seven educational practitioners to share their experiences in conducting action research. Each of these authors also discusses the importance and value that action research has had on him or her, both professionally and personally.  Discuss action research in PK-12, as well as in higher education settings The first book to focus on the importance and application of action research exclusively in educational settings Offers world perspectives on action research in education Written by a team of international scholars The Wiley Handbook of Action Research in Education is an excellent book for advanced undergraduate students, graduate students, and scholars studying and/or researching educational action research.

"The third edition of The SAGE Handbook of Action Research presents an updated version of the bestselling text, including new chapters covering emerging areas in healthcare, social work, education and international development, as well as an expanded 'skills' section which includes new consultant-relevant materials. Building on the strength of the previous landmark editions, Hilary Bradbury has carefully developed this edition to ensure it follows in their footsteps by mapping the current state of the discipline, as well as looking to the future of the field and exploring the issues at the cutting edge of the action research paradigm today. This volume is an essential resource for scholars and professionals engaged in social and political inquiry, healthcare, international development, new media, organizational research and education."

"Michel Van Der Borgh discusses design-based research, which involves finding solutions to problems encountered by practitioners in the field."

"As veteran educational researchers in case study and action research methods, we engaged in a design-based research project as an innovative approach for dealing with the complex practice of integrating science and literacy within elementary classrooms. We choose design-based research as both a theoretical and research framework as our problem of practice centered on how to support elementary teachers to plan and implement an integrated literacy, science, and technology instructional unit of study. The design-based research project included multiple iterations of analyzing, designing, implementing, and revising a curricular intervention. We believe that the iteration cycles of the design-based research project offered unique opportunities for us to reflect on the research activities and, more specifically, design-based research as a research method. As we evaluate the process of enacting design-based research, we note a few methodological issues that relate to participants' commitment: journaling as a form of data collection and the context in which the design-based research took place. By engaging in design-based research, we now recognize the importance of researchers' personal characteristics such as interpersonal and intrapersonal skills as well as preconceptions and prior experience. We recommend that when considering design-based research, researchers need to think deeply about their roles as researchers and recall emblematic considerations such as reflexivity and bracketing. As a function of our study, we have come to appreciate the utility of design-based research as a theoretical framework, research method, and professional learning intervention."

"Providing students and practitioners with a comprehensive introduction to evaluation research, this book shows how social research methods and methodologies can be applied in a variety of evaluation contexts. The author: - illustrates the contribution both quantitative and qualitative methods can make to evaluation; - stresses the important part played by theory in the evaluation enterprise; - introduces some of the conceptual, methodological and practical problems encountered when undertaking this type of applied research, especially in the areas of criminal justice, health care and education."

"The case study aims to highlight key methodological and ethical challenges faced while conducting mixed-methods evaluation research as an insider with a senior position in an exercise referral organization. This case derives from a PhD study exploring the expectations and experiences of participants in an exercise referral scheme for people with non-communicable diseases in northeast England. This case focuses mainly on the qualitative element of the evaluation and gives insight into the value of longitudinal semi-structured interviews as a research tool and the use of a framework approach to analyze the data. It explores some of the benefits and dilemmas involved in conducting insider research and discusses how using a reflective diary can raise awareness of bias, help develop research skills, and aid analysis."

"The tasks involved in planning an evaluative study are examined in terms of the social, political, and economic factors which constrain evaluators. These constraints affect the design, goals, focus, variables, and implementation of an evaluation. Basic techniques and procedures in evaluation research methodology are described with reference to practical problems which must be addressed by the evaluator. Specific directions for planning evaluations are given. Conceptual and methodological issues are illustrated with examples of evaluations from health, education, and social programs. Topics include evaluability assessment, problems of measurement, experimental designs, data analysis, information systems, and benefit cost evaluation."