"Established in 2006 by Dr. Debbie Reese of Nambé Pueblo, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical analysis of Indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books. Dr. Jean Mendoza joined AICL as a co-editor in 2016."
"The Brown Bookshelf is designed to push awareness of the myriad Black voices writing for young readers. Our flagship initiative is 28 Days Later, a month-long showcase of the best in Picture Books, Middle Grade, and Young Adult novels written and illustrated by Black creators."
"Book Dash believes that every child should own one hundred books by the age of five." Book Dash gathers "creative professionals who volunteer to create new, African storybooks that anyone can freely translate, print and distribute."
"Since 2004, Pratham Books has been creating engaging storybooks in multiple languages and formats to help children discover the joy of reading – in languages they can understand, set in locations they can recognise, featuring characters with whom they can identify, and telling stories that capture their attention and fuel their imagination. Fired by our mission of ‘A book in every child’s hand’, we realised that in order to accelerate progress towards SDG 4, we need innovative solutions that bring books to children in a scalable and sustainable manner."
Children's Literature Digital Collections and Resources
The Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature in the Department of Special Collections at the University of Florida's George A. Smathers Libraries contains more than 130,000 books and periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain from the mid-1600s to present day. The Baldwin Library is known for comparative editions of books, with special emphasis on Robinson Crusoe, Pilgrim’s Progress, Aesop’s Fables, and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Click on see only digitized children's books for online access to over 6,000 historic children's books.
"The mission of the International Children's Digital Library Foundation is to support the world's children in becoming effective members of the global community - who exhibit tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas."
"Explore more than 300,000 e-books and audiobooks available for free at NYPL—from children's books to bestsellers. You can also find accessible e-book offerings, learn about downloading e-reader apps to your device, and more."
Here you can access with your DOE login the NOVEL databases (Gale) from New York State, collections of professional development resources, and links to children's books. All resources log in automatically on the DOE network. If you need the password to a resource, please email firstname.lastname@example.org from your DOE email account, identify the resource, and request the password and it will be provided.
Databases include Gale Opposing Viewpoints, Gale in Context: Educator's Reference Complete, and others. "Resources in this portal are available to all New Yorkers without a password as long as one is in New York State, via a NY driver or non-driver ID if not currently in New York State and/or via a Library Card."
Requires a New York Public Library Card. "Provides access to over 30 databases with citations, abstracts and selected full-text. Includes Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete and other subject-specific resources. Specific databases available through EBSCOhost are listed at the EBSCOhost site and in this directory."
New York Public Library card required. "A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR."