Research Guides: Cooperating Teacher Resources: Access to Articles and eBooks

Welcome

There are lots of databases that are freely available and relevant for practicing teachers. Most of these resources are available without a login.

There are:

Databases and search engines with access to scholarly articles;
Versions of articles that scholars have placed in Institutional repositories. These articles may not include the final edits that a publisher has given an article, but the content is basically the same. CUNY Academic Works is an example of such a repository. Articles from institutional repositories can also be found in Google Scholar. Look for URLs that end in .edu or have the name of a college/university in the URL for these articles;
New York State NOVEL databases which provides access to GALE databases;
New York Schools Library professional development eBook collection that can be accessed with a DOE login; and
New York Public Library has numerous databases that can be accessed with an NYPL library card.

This guide was developed by Alison Lehner-Quam, Education Librarian, Lehman College. Questions or suggestions? eMail: Alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu

Scholarly Articles

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
"ERIC is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information."
PLOS
"PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication."
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Open access articles often have links that end in .edu and .gov.
CUNY Academic Works
"CUNY Academic Works provides for the preservation and dissemination of a full range of scholarship, including faculty research such as articles and conference presentations; educational materials; student works such as theses, dissertations, and prize papers; scholarly journals published by or associated with the University; digitized archival documents from CUNY’s libraries and special collections."
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
"OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 6,117,323 theses and dissertations."

eBooks

Internet Archive
"Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more."
New York Public Library SimplyE App
"SimplyE is a free, open source e-reader app that... bring[s] together ... [the] entire collection of more than 300,000 e-books and audiobooks and make them accessible all in one place."

New York State, School, and Library System Resources

New York City Schools Library System eBooks and Databases
Here you can access with your DOE login the NOVEL databases (Gale) from New York State, collections of professional development resources, and links to children's books. All resources log in automatically on the DOE network. If you need the password to a resource, please email libraries@schools.nyc.gov from your DOE email account, identify the resource, and request the password and it will be provided.
NOVELNY Databases
Databases include Gale Opposing Viewpoints, Gale in Context: Educator's Reference Complete, and others. "Resources in this portal are available to all New Yorkers without a password as long as one is in New York State, via a NY driver or non-driver ID if not currently in New York State and/or via a Library Card."
EBSCOHost
Requires a New York Public Library Card. "Provides access to over 30 databases with citations, abstracts and selected full-text. Includes Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete and other subject-specific resources. Specific databases available through EBSCOhost are listed at the EBSCOhost site and in this directory."
Jstor
New York Public Library card required. "A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR."
New York Public Library Databases
Many of these databases are searchable outside of a New York Public Library branch with a New York Public Library Card.