Organizational Leadership

Articles provided by American Evaluation Association.

"The National Council of Nonprofits and its state association network encourage nonprofits to embrace a culture that supports evaluating the difference your nonprofit is making....Here are some resources to help your organization along an intentional path that we hope will lead to the most effective delivery of your nonprofit's programs and services, and advancement of its mission."

Additional resources, including those covering a wide-range of program evaluations related to work environment and safety.

CDC Evaluation Documents, Workbooks and Tools--Indicators and Performance Measures

Since 1984, The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has provided technical assistance to more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries, advancing global understanding of health and population trends in developing countries. Follow link to Questionnaire Modules to download pdfs of questionnaires and instructions.

"The Child and Family Data Archive (C&F Data Archive) is the place to discover, access, and analyze data on young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them. The C&F Data Archive is supported by contract #HHSP233201800021C from the Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation (OPRE)."

Data and questionnaires from the National Household Education Surveys Program (NHES)

Resource library with articles on program level assessment, among other topics.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

The world’s largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984. Currently, data are collected monthly in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Guam.

CDC Evaluation Documents, Workbooks and Tools--Indicators and Performance Measures

Federal agency that administers Medicare, Medicaid and State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Look at “Research, Statistics, Data & Systems” section.

Mortality Database: Causes of death by age and sex
Global Health Estimates: Assessment of mortality and loss of health due to diseases, injuries and risk factors
Global Health Observatory: Portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation

The Health Department gathers data and statistics from New Yorkers and uses them to inform the public and health professionals about the health of the City over time.

EpiQuery provides data on the health of New Yorkers from a variety of sources, including surveys, surveillance data, and vital records (births and deaths).

Access to data for New York City and New York State. Note Latest Updates: 1) COVID-19 Data by Zip Code; 2) Health Status Indicators - How does your neighborhood compare? Data from the CDC's 500 Cities Project; and 3) 2014-2018 (5-yr average) Small Area Census (from the American Community Survey)

"capture the health of 59 community districts across the city. The most comprehensive reports of neighborhood health ever produced . . . define a broader picture of neighborhood health including conditions such as housing quality, air pollution, and types of food accessible."

Community Health Profiles are now interactive.

"Explore how the environment shapes health in NYC."

A resource for community health planners, practitioners, and policy developers. Provides data, local health planning documents and examples.

A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, which provides access to print and electronic publications, websites, and online databases covering a wide range of topics.

Learn about various social work evidence-based practice resources suggested by the National Association of Social Work.

Site (http://ifp.nyu.edu) developed and maintained by Prof. Gary Holden of NYU School of Social Work to help social service professionals throughout the world conveniently maintain an awareness of news regarding the profession and emerging scholarship.

"Charity Navigator's rating system examines two broad areas of a charity's performance; their Financial Health and their Accountability & Transparency. Our ratings show givers how efficiently we believe a charity will use their support today, how well it has sustained its programs and services over time and their level of commitment to good governance, best practices and openness with information."

Foundation Center‘s mission is to connect nonprofits and funders to the knowledge they need to do their jobs better and to deepen the impact of their efforts. Through IssueLab we support ongoing learning and research in the social sector, believing in the power of the sector’s collective intelligence and the importance of open and free access to that intelligence.

"The Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy works across all sectors to increase the impact of actors on the front lines of social change. By partnering with changemakers, sharing knowledge, and analyzing results, CNP is amplifying these efforts to improve practice, inform policy and advance public understanding."

The American Evaluation Association is a professional association of evaluators devoted to the application and exploration of program evaluation, personnel evaluation, technology, and many other forms of evaluation.