This is the "Home" page of the "Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work   Tags: social, work  

Last Updated: Jul 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lehman.edu/social-work Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Books - Print

Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks are excellent sources to get an introduction or overview on a topic, and to find search terms.

Cover Art
Biographical Dictionary of Social Welfare in America - Trattner, Walter
Call Number: HV27 .B57 1986
ISBN: 0313230013
Publication Date: 1986
This biographical dictionary features essays on approximately 330 people in the field of welfare, social insurance, public and mental health, and child welfare in America.

Cover Art
What Social Workers Do - Margaret Gibelman
Call Number: HV91 .G447 2004
ISBN: 0871013649
Publication Date: 2004-12-01

Cover Art
101 Careers in social work
Call Number: HV10.5 .R58 2009
ISBN: 9780826154057
Publication Date: 2009
Useful for social work majors or readers considering the possibility of social work as a career.

Cover Art
Careers in Social and Rehabilitation Services - Geraldine Garner
Call Number: HV10.5 .G39 2008
ISBN: 9780071493130
Publication Date: 2008-03-21

Cover Art
Comprehensive handbook of social work and social welfare
Call Number: HV40 .C635 2008
ISBN: 9780471769972
Publication Date: 2008
Presents a comprehensive and up-to-date review of this constantly evolving field, featuring contributions from renowned national and international experts.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Social Work - Terry Mizrahi; Larry E. Davis
Call Number: HV35 .S6 2008
ISBN: 9780195306613
Publication Date: 2008-04-17
Copies in Quick and Ready Reference and Reserve; also available online as eBook and as Database.

The field's most comprehensive reference work for the general knowledge base of the profession; especially good for historical aspects. Four volumes provide nearly 3,000 pages of information on virtually every aspect of social work.

Cover Art
Handbook of Social Work Practice with Vulnerable and Resilient Populations - Alex Gitterman (Editor)
Call Number: HV91 .H265 2001
ISBN: 9780231113960
Publication Date: 2001-03-29
Copies in Ready Reference and Reserve

Cover Art
The Social Work Dictionary - Robert L. Barker
Call Number: HV12 .B37 2003
ISBN: 9780871013552
Publication Date: 2003-06-01
Copies in Quick and Ready Reference
Used extensively in schools of social work, social service agency libraries, and in social work offices worldwide, The Social Work Dictionary, 5th Edition is a staple in professional libraries.

Cover Art
Social Work: a Profession of Many Faces - Bradford W. Sheafor; Malcolm E. Scott; Armando T. Morales
Call Number: HV91 .M67 2012
ISBN: 9780205034673
Publication Date: 2011-01-26
(2012 edition is on Reserve); older editions are available Third Floor North

Cover Art
Social Workers' Desk Reference - Albert R. Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: HV40 .S6464 2009
ISBN: 9780195369373
Publication Date: 2008-11-21
Covers everything that a practitioner needs to know in order to be effective in clinical social work practice.

Cover Art
Research Techniques for Clinical Social Workers - M. Elizabeth Vonk; Tony Tripodi; Irwin Epstein
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0231508549
Publication Date: 2006-10-23
Also available through Gale Virtual Reference Library and in print HV11 .T747 2007.

Health and Human Services Librarian

Profile Image
Robin Wright
Contact Info
Leonard Lief Library, Rm. 105
250 Bedford Park Blvd West
Bronx, NY 10468
718-960-8673
Send Email
 

Send Your Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip