From off-campus, Lehman users will be prompted to log into databases, e-journals, e-books, and other subscription resources via their CUNYFirst Credentials.
Your CUNYFirst Credentials are the same as your BlackBoard/Brightspace Credentials.
This video demonstrates "Finding the 24-7 Chat Service and How to Sign up for an Interlibrary Loan Account" using the Iliad system.
To see the full screen version of the video click on the box symbol at the bottom of the video.
This document provides information on using AND and OR to improve your search. It also provides tips on phrase searching using quotation marks.
Hello students.
The videos and activities below have been created to help you find educational theorists information for your assignments. You will learn how to use a reference eBook database to find overview information on your theorists and/or theory, OneSearch to find books and articles, databases to find articles by and about your theorists, and Google Scholar to find articles and books by and about your theorist.
The Theories and Theorists resources are searchable below each video.
Good luck with your research. Feel free to email me (alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu) with any questions.
With warm regards,
Alison Lehner-Quam
Education Librarian
Follow these links to find articles in databases. Note that your Lehman Login password is required to access some of the articles:
The "Finding Reference Articles in Gale Ebooks" video will help you navigate the Gale Ebooks database to find reference articles on your education theorist and/or theory. You will learn how to email articles to yourself and how to mine the bibliographies for additional resources. The Gale Ebooks link is posted below the video. Click on the video to make it full screen.
Select "Gale eBooks" from the Gale database menu
Provides full-text access to 100+ separate reference works published by Oxford University Press. Subject areas covered: architecture, art, biology, business, classics, computer science, earth and environmental sciences, economics, English dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri, English language reference, food and nutrition, general resources, history, law, literature, mathematics, medicine, military history, modern languages, mythology and folklore, physical sciences, political science, performing arts, philosophy, religion, social sciences, and theater.
The "Finding Educational Theorist Articles and Books in OneSearch" video you will learn how to find articles, books and other media in the library's OneSearch discovery tool. You will learn how to filter your search results to locate ebooks, articles, and books by and about your theorist. Use the OneSearch box below the video to search for theorists and theories.
The "Searching Theorists in EBSCO Databases" video below provides tips for using the Boolean AND operator to focus your search on your theorist as well as the theory. It also features information on using the Guide links to search for articles by your theorist as well as articles about your theorist. Scroll down below the videos to access the links to theories and theorists and EBSCO databases and Google Scholar.
When you access Google Scholar from a Lehman Library site you will find articles that are linked to the Lehman databases. Look for the Find Fulltext at Lehman link in the right column. Google Scholar is a helpful way to access articles from multiple databases in a single search.