Research Guides: History: Databases

World History Databases

Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture provides monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.
CIAO
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
JSTOR
A multi-disciplinary database containing full text journals in disciplines such as History, Economics, Asian Studies, Classics, Archeology, Ecology, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population, Sociology, and Statistics as well as core titles in African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle Eastern studies.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Sections Cover e.g.,: (1) British Politics and Society; (2) Asia and the West; (8) Europe & Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest.

Project MUSE
Slavery and Anti-Slavery, A Transnational Archive
Slavery & Anti-Slavery is a four part archive. It covers: (1) Debates over Slavery and Abolition; (2) Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; (3) Institution of Slavery; (4) Age of Emancipation.

European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks, slavery and more.

World History Collection
This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online (AVON) is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Ebook Central
Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) features a growing selection of more than 150,000 titles from more than 200 leading academic, scientific, technical, medical, and professional publishers. You will need to sign in to view the ebooks. Go to Downloading ebooks for more information.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Guide to history of the world from 1450 to the present, this authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Coverage extends to related disciplines such as archaeology, anthropology, and sociology.
Kanopy
Streaming service that offers must-watch movies and videos, documentaries, and classic films. Includes the full Criterion Collection and selections from PBS.

How Faculty Can Request Streaming Media:

Go to Request Streaming Media
To see the current collection of subscribed titles, visit https://cuny-le.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/collectionDiscovery?vid=01CUNY_LE:CUNY_LE&collectionId=81124246680006134&lang=en
The Making of the Modern World
Includes over 62,400 books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more sourced from leading collections at major libraries around the world. It tracks the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Titles are in English as well as many other languages.
New York Times: Historical Newspapers
The New York Times (1851-2017) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window
Selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals and students of military science, history, social science.
Gale Primary Sources: Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
Serves needs of students and researchers by bringing together in a single place rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and newsfeeds covering region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.