Research Guides: Spanish Language and Literature: Scholarly sources

Reference Books

Reference books are a type of source that is useful early in the research process. They are good for getting a general overview of a topic. Some examples of reference books available through the library below:

Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by Daniel Balderston (Editor); Mike Gonzalez (Editor)
Call Number: Librry eBook
ISBN: 9780203316115
Publication Date: 2004-02-12
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater by Richard A. Young; Odile Cisneros
Call Number: Library eBook
ISBN: 9780810874985
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater provides users with an accessible single-volume reference tool covering Portuguese-speaking Brazil and the 16 Spanish-speaking countries of continental Latin America. Entries for authors, ranging from the early colonial period to the present, give succinct biographical data and an account of the author's literary production, with particular attention to their most prominent works and where they belong in literary history. The introduction provides a review of Latin American literature and theater as a whole while separate dictionary entries for each country offer insight into the history of national literatures. Entries for literary terms, movements, and genres serve to complement these commentaries, and an extensive bibliography points the way for further reading.
Spanish Literature: A Very Short Introduction by Jo Labanyi
Call Number: Library eBook
ISBN: 9780199208050
Publication Date: 2010
The book introduces a general readership to the ways in which Spanish literature has been read, in and outside Spain, explaining misconceptions,outlining the insights of recent scholarship and suggesting new readings. It highlights the precocious modernity of much early modern Spanish literature, and shows how the gap between modern ideas and social reality stimulated creative literary responses in subsequent periods; as well as howcontemporary writers have adjusted to Spain's recent accelerated modernization.

Pro tip: Search across a variety of reference sources by using the Gale eBooks database (link below).

Gale Ebooks

Scholarly Books

Scholarly books dive deeper into a subject. These may include chapters focusing on different literary or linguistics topics or be whole book devoted to a topic. Some examples available through the library below. Books available through our library can be found by looking in OneSearch.

Hispanic Caribbean Literature of Migration by Vanessa Pérez Rosario (Editor)
Call Number: PS153.H56 H57 2010 and ebook
ISBN: 9780230107892
Publication Date: 2010
This collection explores the literary tradition of Caribbean Latino literature written in the U.S. beginning with José Martí and concluding with 2008 Pulitzer Prize winning novelist, Junot Díaz. The contributors consider the way that spatial migration in literature serves as a metaphor for gender, sexuality, racial, identity, linguistic, and national migrations.
Identity in Latin American and Latina Literature by Kathryn Quinn-Sánchez
Call Number: Library eBook
ISBN: 9780739192719
Publication Date: 2014
This study demonstrates the ways that Latina authors contest how power and space exploit women while simultaneously subverting the Nation-State through reimagining a counter-space where new definitions of the self lie beyond Power's reach.

Scholarly Articles

Similar to scholarly books, scholarly articles dive deeper into a subject. They are published in academic journals and can be searched in library databases. Some database suggestions below:

Interlibrary Loan Information

Interlibrary Loan

Sometimes you may find a citation to an article that the Lehman library does not have access to. In those cases, you can place a request via our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) system. Most times, you will receive a PDF of the article within 2 days.

Download the document below for detailed instructions for setting up an ILL account and requesting an article.

ILL Instructions
PDF document with step by step instructions for requesting articles via interlibrary loan.