Find Journals and Articles - Middle and High School Education - English Education

Top Education Databases

Education Source
Full text for over 1,700 journals, indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, full text for conference papers, and more than 550 books and monographs, and citations for over 4 million articles, including book reviews.
ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a comprehensive education database going back to 1966. It covers education research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, books, and the published journal literature from over 980 education-related periodicals, many of which are available in full-text. Most ERIC documents from 1993 to date are available in full text.

Selected Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
ARTstor Collections on JSTOR
A resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. ARSTOR Collections reside on the JSTOR Platform.
Drama for Students
Contains easily accessible and context-rich discussions of the literary and historical significance of major plays from various cultures and time periods.
Gale Literature
A gateway to several literary databases including Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, MLA, GVRL and Something about the Author Online.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
One of the largest Digital Humanities and Social Sciences databases. Artemis collects and brings to the surface new research connections across several centuriesand millions of pages ofnewspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines, formats, and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Google Scholar sorts articles weighing the fulltext of each article, author, publication in which article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

If you encounter issues off-campus, use the regular https://scholar.google.com link.
Go to settings, select Library Links, do a search for Lehman, save it. Then perform a new search. You should see results with Full Text at Lehman.
Go to https://libguides.lehman.edu/google/scholar for more information.
History Makers Digital Archive
Since 1999, The HistoryMakers has been recording African American oral histories to refashion a more inclusive record of American history and to educate and enlighten millions worldwide.
Humanities Source
Authoritative resource in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought, providing access to more than 1,450 full-text journals dating back to 1907. Subjects include archaeology,
area studies, Art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy,
religion, and theology.
JSTOR
Multi-disciplinary database containing full-text journals in disciplines such as history, economics, Asian Studies, classics, archeology, ecology, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population, sociology, and statistics, as well as core titles in African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies. Journals are complete runs, starting with the first issue through the most recent year that has been digitized so far.
MLA International Bibliography
The Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography provides searchable access to bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly Web sites. It indexes materials from 1926 to the present in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world - Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. The MLA currently indexes more than 66,000 new items each year.
Project Muse
Offers nearly 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Watch a recorded demo of Sage Research Methods through the link below:

Sage Research Methods

Databases with Articles for K-12 Students

Gale in Context: Elementary
Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for nearly 550 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating back as far as 1975 for key magazines. Provides nearly 550 full text pamphlets, 237 full text reference books, 91,600 biographies, 75,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator [Lexiles].

Video Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online (AVON) is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Kanopy
Streaming service that offers must-watch movies and videos, documentaries, and classic films. Includes the full Criterion Collection and selections from PBS.

How Faculty Can Request Streaming Media:

Go to Request Streaming Media
To see the current collection of subscribed titles, visit https://cuny-le.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/collectionDiscovery?vid=01CUNY_LE:CUNY_LE&collectionId=81124246680006134&lang=en
Psychotherapy.net
A streaming videos library of 50 training videos featuring the leading practitioners of the psychology field.

Finding Databases

Go to Library website

Click on Databases and then

Search by Database Name, Subject or Vendor in the search box

OR select Browse Databases A-Z to browse the list of databases

Middle and High School Education - English Education

Academic Journal? Scholarly Article? Article Database?

Interlibrary Loan

Top Education Databases

Selected Databases

Databases with Articles for K-12 Students

Video Databases

Finding Databases