Research Guides: Inquiry and Creativity in Higher Education: Databases

Top Education Databases

Education Source
Full text for over 1,700 journals, indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, full text for conference papers, and more than 550 books and monographs, and citations for over 4 million articles, including book reviews.
ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a comprehensive education database going back to 1966. It covers education research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, books, and the published journal literature from over 980 education-related periodicals, many of which are available in full-text. Most ERIC documents from 1993 to date are available in full text.

Academic Subject Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
American Chemical Society This link opens in a new window
Web editions of American Chemical Society journals. Over 30 full-text journals and ACS Archives back to 1879.
Applied Science & Technology Source
Health and Medicine
Covers fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, alcohol and drug abuse. Coverage: 1980-present. This resource also includes reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of vidoes demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Provides nearly 520 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals. Subjects include pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more.
JSTOR
Multi-disciplinary database containing full-text journals in disciplines such as history, economics, Asian Studies, classics, archeology, ecology, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population, sociology, and statistics, as well as core titles in African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies. Journals are complete runs, starting with the first issue through the most recent year that has been digitized so far.
MathSciNet
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It provides Web access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database. To see the full titles and ISSNs that correspond to abbreviations in Mathematical Reviews, see Abbreviations of Names of Mathematical Serials (PDF).
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to index citations from more than 5,200 scholarly biomedical and life sciences journals.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning 1987 to present. Includes more than 35,000 full-text articles from 49 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included are indexed in PsycINFO.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), is the search interface for MEDLINE, NLM's journal citation database. PubMed citations come from 1) MEDLINE indexed journals, 2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PubMed Central (PMC), the free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature and 3) the National Center of Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf (free online books). Both MEDLINE and other PubMed citations may have links to full-text articles or manuscripts in PMC, NCBI Bookshelf, and publishers Web sites.
Sage Journals Online Premier This link opens in a new window
For individual articles, shows citing articles in Scopus, Web of Science and Google Scholar.

Video Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online (AVON) is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Kanopy
Streaming service that offers must-watch movies and videos, documentaries, and classic films. Includes the full Criterion Collection and selections from PBS.

How Faculty Can Request Streaming Media:

Go to Request Streaming Media
To see the current collection of subscribed titles, visit https://cuny-le.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/collectionDiscovery?vid=01CUNY_LE:CUNY_LE&collectionId=81124246680006134&lang=en
Psychotherapy.net
A streaming videos library of 50 training videos featuring the leading practitioners of the psychology field.

Finding Databases

Go to Library website

Click on Databases and then

Search by Database Name, Subject or Vendor in the search box

OR select Browse Databases A-Z to browse the list of databases

Inquiry and Creativity in Higher Education

Top Education Databases

Academic Subject Databases

Video Databases

Finding Databases

Academic Journal? Scholarly Article? Article Database?