Research Guides: PHE 700: History and Philosophy of Public Health: Databases

Top Public Health Databases

Public Health Database
Ideal starting point for public health information for students, instructors, researchers, and professionals. Delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it full-text. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, and reports, it covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public health terminology.

PubMed (MEDLINE)
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's free digital archive with citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and also includes AHFS Drug Information (AHFS DI).

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete is a comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for 750 journals and 240 books with full-text coverage dating back to 1937. Offers access to nursing dissertations, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheets, research instruments, educational software, and audiovisuals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals included.

More Databases

PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Provided by the American Psychological Association, this database indexes and abstracts over one million articles in 1,500 journals from over 50 countries. It also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present.
InfoShare
InfoShare brings together dozens of local, state and federal databases describing population, socio-economic and health conditions. It gives this information for a variety of geographic areas, allowing for profiling and comparisons of areas of your choosing.
CQ Researcher
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

CQ Weekly
Archived Version: Reports published on congressional activities and news, including the status of bills; committee and floor activity; debates; and roll-call votes from Oct. 1, 1983 o July 31, 2014.

LexisNexis
Provides access to full-text information from over 10,000 sources, including: national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. This database provides also access to U.S. Federal and state case law, legal news, law reviews, international legal information and Shepard's® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Health Reference Academic Center
InfoTrac's Health Reference Center-Academic: covers Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Alcohol and Drug abuse. Coverage: 1980-present. (Gale)
SAGE Journals Online Premier
Access to 510 full-text peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of topics including communication studies, education, health science, political science, etc
Social Explorer
Social Explorer is a premier U.S. demographics website. Online tools help visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's web site for patients and their families and friends providing easily understood information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues.

Off-Campus Access

From off-campus, Lehman users will be prompted to log into databases, e-journals, e-books, and other subscription resources via their CUNYFirst Credentials.

Your CUNYFirst Credentials are the same as your BlackBoard/Brightspace Credentials.

To login, enter your CUNY Login Credentials, which are you CUNYFirst or BlackBoard Credentials
You must have an active CUNY First Account
To report a problem, please select Forget Username or Forget Password
If you do not have CUNYFirst credentials and should have off-campus access, please fill the report a technical problem form