Research Guides: Theater: Find Journals and Articles

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Good general database. Some history, literature, and other cultural materials available. Not as useful for art-specific research.
Essay and General Literature
Indexes essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.
Gale Literature
A gateway to several literary databases including Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, MLA, GVRL and Something about the Author Online.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines, formats, and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Google Scholar sorts articles weighing the fulltext of each article, author, publication in which article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

If you encounter issues off-campus, use the regular https://scholar.google.com link.
Go to settings, select Library Links, do a search for Lehman, save it. Then perform a new search. You should see results with Full Text at Lehman.
Go to https://libguides.lehman.edu/google/scholar for more information.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Guide to history of the world from 1450 to the present, this authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Coverage extends to related disciplines such as archaeology, anthropology, and sociology.
Humanities Source
Authoritative resource in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought, providing access to more than 1,450 full-text journals dating back to 1907. Subjects include archaeology,
area studies, Art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy,
religion, and theology.
Literature Resource Center
The Literature Resource Center provides access to biographical, bibliographical and contextual information from the Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literacy Criticism Select databases. Also available are more than 285,000 full-text journal articles, 38,000 critical essays, 122,000 author biographies, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
Play Index
Covers works of contemporary playwrights, including new editions and translations. Includes citations to approximately 31,000 plays - published individually or in collections - dating from 1949 to present, and over 600 monologues for auditions or course assignments. Includes one-act plays, plays in verse, musicals, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues.
World History
Contains cover-to-cover full text for more than 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964. Cover a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues, and more.

Art Databases

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
No full text and a bit harder to use, BHA is best for advanced research. It covers art publications from 1975-2007. To use it effectively, search with multiple terms. Don't be afraid to ask a librarian for help!
British Museum: Ancient Greece
British Museum's educational website aimed at school children but also includes resources for teachers.

Art Full Text
A bibliographic database that indexes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well published throughout the world.
ARTstor Collections on JSTOR
A resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. ARSTOR Collections reside on the JSTOR Platform.
Music Online: Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. This ever growing collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hnssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers.
JSTOR
Extremely useful for art history research as well as general history, literature, comparative lit, cultural studies, and more.
Oxford Art Online
A collection of art reference books, including art dictionaries and encyclopedias. A good way to start learning about a topic, and a great alternative to Wikipedia.
Project Muse
Like JSTOR, but smaller. Good coverage of visual art, as well as literature, history, performing arts, and cultural studies.

Video Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online (AVON) is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Kanopy
Streaming service that offers must-watch movies and videos, documentaries, and classic films. Includes the full Criterion Collection and selections from PBS.

How Faculty Can Request Streaming Media:

Go to Request Streaming Media
To see the current collection of subscribed titles, visit https://cuny-le.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/collectionDiscovery?vid=01CUNY_LE:CUNY_LE&collectionId=81124246680006134&lang=en
Psychotherapy.net
A streaming videos library of 50 training videos featuring the leading practitioners of the psychology field.

Academic Journal? Scholarly Article? Article Database?

Off-Campus Access

From off-campus, Lehman users will be prompted to log into databases, e-journals, e-books, and other subscription resources via their CUNYFirst Credentials.

Your CUNYFirst Credentials are the same as your BlackBoard/Brightspace Credentials.

To login, enter your CUNY Login Credentials, which are you CUNYFirst or BlackBoard Credentials
You must have an active CUNY First Account
To report a problem, please select Forget Username or Forget Password
If you do not have CUNYFirst credentials and should have off-campus access, please fill the report a technical problem form