Research Guides: General Multidisciplinary : Databases

General/ Multidisciplinary Databases

Below you will find a list of Databases that will help you in various disciplines:

Academic One File
Academic One File is your source for peer-reviewed and full-text articles in numerous subjects available in both PDF and HTML full text. Academic One File is updated daily!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text scholarly publications covering various academic areas of study.
Academic Video Online (AVON)

CQ Researcher
Provides analysis on issues seen in the news.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Contains free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals that aim to cover all subjects and languages.

Essay and General Literature
Essay and General Literature Retrospective 1900-1984 has citations for over 249,000 essays in collections dating back to 1900.

Google Books
Allows you to search and preview books.
Google Scholar
"Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles."
Humanities Source
A bibliographic database containing full text scholarly journals from 1995 and onwards in the Humanities field.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database containing full text journals in various subjects.

MasterFile Complete
Information on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multicultural. Includes searchable full text for nearly 1,860 journals.

Nexis Uni
Opposing Viewpoints
Provides resources for up-to-date social issues from both sides.
Project Muse
Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega Edition
Provides indexing and abstracts for 470 periodicals dating back to 1983. It contains Full-text articles from more than 270 periodicals on topics such as art, business, education and entertainment.

Reference Databases

Below are Specialized Databases, Online Encyclopedia's etc...

Gale Ebooks
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, dictionaries and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. it is an excellent resource for general overviews.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Access through Lehman is unavailable at this time.
Please access via NYPL using the link below:
https://libguides.nypl.org/oed
You will need an NYPL card to access. Don't have one? Sign up by going to https://www.nypl.org/library-card/new
Guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of half a million words.
Gale Literature
Oxford Reference Online
This resource provides full-text access to 100+ separate reference works published by Oxford University Press in many subjects.

How to "Find It!"

Not all of the articles you find in databases will be full text.

Use the "Find it @ CUNY!" button to see if full text is available elsewhere.

Off-Campus Access

From off-campus, Lehman users will be prompted to log into databases, e-journals, e-books, and other subscription resources via their CUNYFirst Credentials.

Your CUNYFirst Credentials are the same as your BlackBoard/Brightspace Credentials.

To login, enter your CUNY Login Credentials, which are you CUNYFirst or BlackBoard Credentials
You must have an active CUNY First Account
To report a problem, please select Forget Username or Forget Password
If you do not have CUNYFirst credentials and should have off-campus access, please fill the report a technical problem form