Research Guides: Wave Hill Forest Project: Web Resources

Global Change Master Directory

Global Change Master Directory
GCMD holds more than 25,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

EPA is an agency of the federal government of the United States charged with protecting human health and the environment, by writing and enforcing regulations based on laws passed by Congress.

UNdata @ http://data.un.org/

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

"A world of information" is at your fingertips by browsing data series or searching by keyword more than 55 million records from the databases of the UN on employment, education, energy, environment, health, population, refugees, and much more.

Internet Sources

AGRICOLA
Indexes articles, books, and government publications in the area of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, rural sociology, and earth and environmental sciences.
DataONE
The Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE) makes vast amounts of information related to environmental research readily available
Earth Portal Community
The Earth Portal is a comprehensive resource for timely, objective, science-based information about the environment. It is a means for the global scientific community to come together to produce the first free, expert-driven, massively scaleable information resource on the environment, and to engage civil society in a public dialogue on the role of environmental issues in human affairs.
Envirofacts Portal
The Envirofacts portal provides detailed environmental data on local water quality, toxic emissions, and other information, searchable by zip code.
Environmental Media Services
A nonprofit clearinghouse for environmental and public health issues. Includes breaking news, "backgrounders" on topics in environmental health, transportation, climate and air quality, land use, and oceans and water. For each topic, there are fast facts, background, links to sources, and often contacts. Aimed at working journalists, this site is a good source of news and information.
GEO Data Portal
The Environmental Data Explorer is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP. Display them on-the-fly as maps, graphs, data tables or download the data in different formats.
more...less...
The authoritative source for data sets used by the United Nations Environment Programme and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 450 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP. Display them on-the-fly as maps, graphs, data tables or download the data in different formats.
Geosource
Virtual library on geography, planning, geosciences, and environmental sciences with more than 4600 links organized into the following categories: academic subjects, countries and regions, library collections and museums, international organizations, professional organizations, university departments and research schools, statistical agencies and resources, publishers, journals by subject, reference, congresses and mailing lists, and miscellaneous.
Internet Public LIbrary: IPL2: Information You Can Trust
The new site IPL2: Information You Can Trust, merging the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians Internet Index (LII), features a searchable, subject-categorized directory of authoritative websites; links to online texts, newspapers, and magazines; special sections for kids and teens; and a collection on IPL2-generated special collections on a variety of topics.
IPL -- Science and Technology – Environmental Sciences and Ecology
National Library for the Environment
A digital archive of material, including reports on “hot topics,” Congressional Research Service reports, and abstracts and links to over 14,000 reports on population and the environment. This site is a project of the National Council for Science and the Environment.
National Map: The Nation's Topographic Map for the 21st Century
An amazing tool from the U.S. Geological Survey. The viewer allows users to zoom in on any part of the United States and choose map layers such as elevation, roads, water, land use, and even detailed aerial satellite images. Whether you're examining a region, a state, or a few city blocks, this tool offers access to a wealth of topographic information.
Science.gov
A portal for science information from the U.S. government. The site includes cross-searching of 30 databases as well as links to science pages contributed by 12 federal agencies. It offers an advanced search as well as a browsable directory of resources by topic.
Visible Earth
Provides a subject-indexed and searchable images, visualizations, and animations of the Earth based on satellite data.
Windows to the Universe
The Windows to the Universe website is a richly interlinked ecosystem for learning about the Earth and Space sciences for use by the general public, students, and teachers.
World Resources Institute
Offers many digital publications on environmental issues, including country profiles and EarthTrends (http://earthtrends.wri.org), a portal for a wealth of data on environmental topics including population, energy, water resources, biodiversity, and economic issues affecting the environment.