It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
APortal for science information from the U.S. government. The site includes cross-searching of 30 databases as well as links to science pages contributed by 12 federal agencies. It offers an advanced search as well as a browsable directory of resources by topic.
Provides highly technical molecular biology information and tools. The site includes molecular databases, nucleotide and protein sequences, and genome databases as well as links to the PubMed database of medical research and PubMed Central, an archive of full-text life sciences journals. The center is part of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Searchable, subject-categorized directory of authoritative websites; links to online texts, newspapers, and magazines; special sections for kids and teens; and special collections on a variety of topics.
A collaborative project compiled by biologists around the world. The site offers more than 1,300 schematic trees that map biological relationships and provide information about organisms. Detailed bibliographies are inlcuded.
Provides information on animals: mammals, birds, amphibians, reptiles, sharks, bony fish, mollusks, arthropods, and echinoderms. Each animal is classified by phylum, order, class, and family; pictures, sounds, and background information are provided for many of them.
Completed in 2003, the Human Genome Project (HGP) was a 13-year project coordinated by the U.S. Department of Energy and the National Institutes of Health. Though the HGP is finished, analyses of the data will continue for many years.