Research Guides: Biology: Databases

Specialized Databases

ScienceDirect
Provides full-text access to over 4,000 journals primarily in areas of science, technology, social science, and medicine. The collection held by Lehman is the Freedom Collection. Click on "Browse" for lists of journals. Click on "Search" to search across journals.
Scopus
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to index citations from more than 5,200 scholarly biomedical and life sciences journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), is the search interface for MEDLINE, NLM's journal citation database. PubMed citations come from 1) MEDLINE indexed journals, 2) journals/manuscripts deposited in PubMed Central (PMC), the free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature and 3) the National Center of Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf (free online books). Both MEDLINE and other PubMed citations may have links to full-text articles or manuscripts in PMC, NCBI Bookshelf, and publishers Web sites.
PLoS Medicine
Influential venue for research and commentary on major challenges to human health worldwide, PLOS Medicine publishes open-access articles of general interest on biomedical, environmental, social and political determinants of health. Emphasizes work that advances clinical practice, health policy or pathophysiological understanding to benefit health in a variety of settings.

Plants Database
Covers individual plants, invasive species, threatened and endangered plants, checklists by state, fact sheets, and over 40,000 photographs. From the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
JSTOR Plant Science
Provides access to content vital to plant science—plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, and scientific literature.
Agricola
Indexes articles, books, and government publications in the area of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, rural sociology, and earth and environmental sciences.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
Applied Science & Technology Source
Coverage of the research and development spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines, including acoustics, aeronautics, applied mathematics, artificial intelligence, chemistry, communication and information technology, computer databases and software, computer theory and systems, energy resources and research, engineering and biomedical materials, engineering disciplines, food and food industry, geology, machinery, marine technology, metallurgy, mineralogy, neural networks, new technologies, optical and neural computing, plastics, robotics, solid state technology, space science, and textile industry and fabrics.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database that indexes articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Index also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday). Subjects covered: Astronomy, Atmospheric Science, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Conservation, Earth Science, Environment, Food, Genetics, Health, Mathematics, Medicine, Microbiology, Nutrition, Oceanography, Physics, Physiology, Zoology.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines, formats, and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Google Scholar sorts articles weighing the fulltext of each article, author, publication in which article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

If you encounter issues off-campus, use the regular https://scholar.google.com link.
Go to settings, select Library Links, do a search for Lehman, save it. Then perform a new search. You should see results with Full Text at Lehman.
Go to https://libguides.lehman.edu/google/scholar for more information.

Online Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Oxford Reference Online
This resource provides full-text access to 100+ separate reference works published by Oxford University Press

Ask Us! - New 24/7 Chat

Live chat 24/7

Off-Campus Access

From off-campus, Lehman users will be prompted to log into databases, e-journals, e-books, and other subscription resources via their CUNYFirst Credentials.

Your CUNYFirst Credentials are the same as your BlackBoard/Brightspace Credentials.

To login, enter your CUNY Login Credentials, which are you CUNYFirst or BlackBoard Credentials
You must have an active CUNY First Account
To report a problem, please select Forget Username or Forget Password
If you do not have CUNYFirst credentials and should have off-campus access, please fill the report a technical problem form