Urban Sociology (SOC 234): Find Scholarly Articles

The Library subscribes to many databases (online collections of information) that you can use to find peer-reviewed articles in scholarly journals. You can access our full list of sociology databases here. 

Tip! Students, faculty, and staff can access databases from off-campus by using their CUNY Credentials: firstname.lastname##@login.cuny.edu. This is the same login used to access Blackboard and CUNYFirst. 

• Academic Search Complete - A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. It includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
   
• Diversity Studies Collection - Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
   
• Social Sciences Full Text - Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text database includes the most important English-language social science journals.
   
• SocINDEX with Full Text - Features more than 1,600,000 records with sociology subject headings from 15,600-term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 720 core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Covers broad range of studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work.
   
• Urban Studies Abstracts - This research database is essential to the study of cities and regions. It covers subjects of key relevance to the discipline including urban affairs, community development and urban history.

You can access any of the online journals from anywhere with an Internet connection!

When you click on one of the journal titles to the right, you'll be taken to the journal's record within the library system. In order to open the journal, scroll down until you see View Online. Click one of the blue links right under Try a Link Below!

See below for an example screenshot:

You can also use OneSearch, the library catalog, to find peer-reviewed journal articles (and a lot more, including books and e-books). Check out the video below for instructions on using OneSearch to find articles.