Research Guides: WST 220 Women and Gender Studies: Databases

Database -- Video

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online (AVON) is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Recommended Databases (articles)

JSTOR
A multi-disciplinary database covering over 80 broad disciplines...*use Advanced Search for "Feminist and Women's Studies" to search their 38 titles.
Gender Studies
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Social Sciences Full Text
Selected scholarly periodicals in social sciences [anthropology, political science, sociology, geography, and economics]. Coverage: 1983-present.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Includes extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and other subjects.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines, formats, and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Google Scholar sorts articles weighing the fulltext of each article, author, publication in which article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

If you encounter issues off-campus, use the regular https://scholar.google.com link.
Go to settings, select Library Links, do a search for Lehman, save it. Then perform a new search. You should see results with Full Text at Lehman.
Go to https://libguides.lehman.edu/google/scholar for more information.