Research Guides: WST 220 Women and Gender Studies: Websites & Primary Sources

Digital Collections

Open Community Collections
Open Community Collections feature freely accessible primary source materials in a wide variety of subjects contributed by libraries, museums, and archives.
Women Working, 1800-1930
Thousands of items that illuminate women's history. The result is a unique, virtual collection, comprising over 650,000 individual pages from more than 3,100 books and trade catalogs, 900 archives and manuscript items, and 1,400 photographs.
Women and Social Movements in the U.S., 1600-2000
Organized around social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection advances scholarly debates and understanding about women's history generally. The collection includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents. Also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

American Women Home Page (Library of Congress):
Resources available at the Library of Congress “for the Study of Women’s History and Culture in the United States.”
American Memory: African American Odyssey...
Rare and unique items from the Library's vast African-American collections to the National Digital Library.
National Women's History Museum
This virtual museum offers on-line exhibits and educational resources such as biographies, a suffrage timeline, photos and documents and a list of links for further resources. Focus is on women in the U.S..
Discovering American Women's history Online
"Provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s."
Women's Liberation Movement --Print Culture
Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.
WomenWatch: Information and Resources in Gender Equality and Empowerment of Women
UN Women is the UN organization delivering programs, policies and standards that uphold women’s human rights and ensure that every woman and girl lives up to her full potential.

National Organization of Women (NOW)
NOW, the largest feminist organization in the U.S., works to promote equality for all women.
International Center for Research on Women (ICRW)
ICRW has a vision of equity for all. Their researchers dig into the ways gender shapes societies and how people’s lives are diminished by power imbalances. When they find proof, they bring the issues to light and transform it into answers.
The Feminist Majority Foundation
The Feminist Majority Foundation, is “a cutting edge organization dedicated to women’s equality, reproductive health, and non-violence.”
Catalyst
"Catalyst is a global nonprofit working... to build workplaces that work for women. Catalyst helps organizations remove barriers and drive change with pioneering research, practical tools, and proven solutions to accelerate and advance women into leadership."
National Women's Studies Assn.(NWSA)
The NWSA promotes the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service."