Skip to Main Content

Library Technology

Information about the technology available for use in the library.

Software for Lehman Faculty

Students, faculty, and staff have access to popular Microsoft products including Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and more, as well as 1TB of cloud storage.

The license remains active until you leave the University, at which point it will be in read-only mode and you will be prompted to pay a license fee to Microsoft or stop using Microsoft Office 365 for Education.

Microsoft applications can be accessed online or can be downloaded.

The CUNY Virtual Desktop lets you access software remotely. Current applications available include ArcGIS, SPSS, SAS, Matlab,
Mathematica and Maplesoft. No longer are you restricted by the hours and availability of your
campus labs. The CUNY Virtual Desktop gives you access anytime and anywhere to costly applications
you may need for your classes.

To use the CUNY Virtual Desktop:

Access using your CUNYfirst ID followed by @login.cuny.edu, and your CUNYfirst password.

  1. Install it onto your computer, tablet or smartphone.
  2. Access your applications by clicking on one of the icons above.
  3. Log in using your CUNYfirst ID followed by @login.cuny.edu, and your CUNYfirst password.
  4. Save your data to a flash drive or local drive. Be sure to save your data before exiting the CUNY Virtual Desktop or your work will be lost. Print to any printer connected to your local device.
  5. For additional help, please see the FAQ’s, usage instructions, or call your local campus service desk.

The following is a list of CUNY-wide site licensed software.

Contact your campus site license coordinator for more information or to obtain a product listed below.

Lehman College's license coordinators are:

David Rachlin
(718) 960-8421
Fax-(718)-960-7105
david.rachlin@lehman.cuny.edu

Raymond Diaz
Interim Director, IT Department
718-960-7772
raymond.diaz@lehman.cuny.edu

Adobe Creative Cloud and Document Cloud is a collection of graphic design, video editing, and web development applications made by Adobe Systems for professional print, web design and web development.

ArcGIS is a geographic information system (GIS) for working with maps and geographic information. It is used for creating and using maps, compiling geographic data, analyzing mapped information, sharing and discovering geographic information, using maps and geographic information in a range of applications, and managing geographic information in a database.

Cambridge Soft ChemBioOffice Ultra 2010 Suite is a chemistry and biology suite offering ChemBioOffice 2010 as well as a collection of databases: 1-year subscriptions to ChemINDEX (Index, RXN, NCI & AIDS), ChemACX and ePub.

CATS (CUNY Assistive Technology Services) has a license that permits the University to install on all computers the following assistive software: Open Book9, WYNN 7, ZoomText Fusion 2018, ZoomText 2018, JAWS 2018, and Kurzweil 3000. For more information about the CATS Lab package and other AT, visit cats.cuny.edu

IBM SPSS Statistics software provides tools that allow users to quickly view data, formulate hypotheses for additional testing, and carry out procedures to clarify relationships between variables, create clusters, identify trends and make predictions.

Maplesoft is technical computing software for engineers, mathematicians, and scientists to help do quick calculations, develop design sheets, teach fundamental concepts, or produce sophisticated high-fidelity simulation models.

MathWorks produces mathematical computing software for engineers, scientists, mathematicians, and researchers. MATLAB is a programming environment for algorithm development, data analysis, visualization, and numeric computation. Simulink is a block diagram environment integrated with MATLAB which enables users to move from concept to code by creating models from MATLAB algorithms and exporting simulation for further analysis. 51 Products on the CUNY TAH license

Microsoft Enterprise CAL Suite offers 11 products, including Windows Server 2008 CAL, Exchange Server Enterprise CAL, Office SharePoint Server 2007 CAL, Microsoft Office Communications Server 2007 Enterprise CAL, Windows Rights Management Services and Forefront Security Suite. These products are available to faculty and staff on university-owned equipment only. Microsoft Office 365 for Education, including Outlook, Microsoft Office, and Office ProPlus, are also available for free to students, faculty and staff using your CUNY Login credentials.

RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool that helps researchers and students gather, manage, store and share information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
SAS Education Analytical Suite integrates more than 20 SAS products in a bundle exclusively available for educational professionals who want superior analytic tools.

TechSmith provides screen capture software and solutions. CUNY secured faculty licenses for Snagit and Camtasia software for use in capturing and editing images and videos to support lessons, instruction and communications.

Wolfram Mathematica provides automation in algorithmic computation, interactive manipulation, and dynamic presentation, and is especially useful in the fields of engineering, mathematics, finance, physics, chemistry, and biology.

Please see the Software Availability page for more information on where the above listed software can be used.

Image of the Camtasia interface

image of snagit interface

image of a Zoom class meeting