The main ways to find information sources for your research paper via the library's website is to use the OneSearch (it's like the Google of the library) or our databases. A database is a just a place that gathers together information from many sources so that you can search across that information and retrieve it. The OneSearch is like a database, except it helps you find a lot of different kinds of sources all at once. Explore this website from Baruch College that presents an overview of how OneSearch works. You can search the OneSearch using the keywords and search terms you developed earlier right here in this guide or head over to our library's website and start there.
Following the OneSearch box, you'll find links to some useful databases as well as some additional tutorials to help get you started. Explore the databases using your keywords and search terms.
Once you start looking for sources, if you have any questions or need help, chat with us. A link can be found in the "Get Help!" section of this guide.
Below are databases you can use to search for scholarly and popular artIcles:
For Popular (and some scholarly) articles, start with MasterFile Complete and Readers' Guide Full Text.
For Scholarly articles with a mix of popular articles, start with Academic Search Complete.
Consult the Library Research Guides to find Databases on the subject you are researching: https://libguides.lehman.edu
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
Here are some tutorials for these common databases to help get you started using them:
Academic Search Complete Tutorial - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjKNxqiuwpY - Note: The layout and functionality of Academic Search Complete is similar to Readers' Guide Full Text and Masterfile Complete.
Google Scholar Tutorial - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fXMGQgO_KiQ
JSTOR Tutorial - https://guides.jstor.org/researchbasics
These databases are particularly good for research literature and humanities topics:
Anyone with a valid CUNY email address can sign up for free access to the NYTimes.com website and apps. It also means that you can cancel your personal subscription to NYTimes.com! (But first read the Restrictions section below to make sure you want to cancel.)
How to Register for Your Free Academic Pass:
Go to nytimes.com/passes
Click Register to create a NYTimes.com account using your cuny.edu email address. If you already have a NYTimes account (free or paid) associated with your CUNY email, you need to unlink your CUNY email from that account before signing up for your Academic Pass. Log in to NYTimes.com, click your Username in the top right corner, select My Account, and replace your CUNY address with a non-CUNY one. You can then use your CUNY address to register for your pass.
At the bottom of the Welcome page, click Continue. You will be prompted to check your email. Watch for the confirmation message, which should arrive within 15 minutes.
Click the link in the confirmation email. This will simultaneously verify your eligibility and grant your Academic Pass, which will provide access to NYTimes.com for 52 weeks.
If you don't get the confirmation email, check your spam filter. If you still do not receive it, send an email from your CUNY email account to edu@nytimes.com.
Ongoing Use: Once you have activated your Academic Pass, you should have full access for 52 weeks (364 days) with no further action on your part. If you see a message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, youre probably not logged in. Simply log back in.
Renewal: As people who have signed up reach their one-year anniversary, their passes will expire, and they will start seeing the article counter again. Then, after accessing 10 articles, they will be prompted to subscribe or log in. When this happens to you, just go to https://nytimes.com/passes and sign in as an existing subscriber to enjoy another free year of access to the digital New York Times.
Apps: Your Academic Pass includes access to the NYTimes apps. Once you have registered your Academic Pass, you can access nytimes.com on most web-capable devices.
Canceling a Personal Subscription: To cancel your personal subscription, call NYTimes customer service at 1-800-NYTIMES or, if you subscribed through iTunes, follow these instructions. There may be other things you have to do, depending on the device you have been using to read the NYTimes. If you had an annual subscription, you will receive a refund for the unused portion of the year. If you had a monthly subscription, you will not receive a refund for the month in which you cancel.
The New York Times (1851-2017) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Provides fulltext articles from WSJ going back to 1984.