Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Leadership in Education

This Research Guide is designed for courses in Educational Leadership.

Welcome to the School Leadership Tutorial

Hello students in the School Leadership degree program. Sending you all good wishes.

The videos and activities below have been created to help you be able to identify appropriate databases and search techniques to search for articles on your topic. You will also learn how to sign up for an Illiad (Inter Library Loan) account so you can request articles not available in our databases. As Lehman students you should be able to access the articles you need without paying a fee.

Good luck with your research. Feel free to email me (alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu) with any questions.

With warm regards,

Alison Lehner-Quam

Education Librarian

Searching with Keywords

 

The video below, "Searching Databases with Keywords" will provide information on how to use keywords, synonyms, and related terms in your search.

MSOL Research Literature Review Tutorial

Use the "Planning Your Search" document to map out your search using keywords. As you plan out your Advanced Search on paper using the three search boxes and the AND and OR operators, remember to keep your search terms simple and to place one idea in each box.

 

The Research Guide has a list of databases in the Find Journals and Articles section that are useful for research about schools and leadership. To log into the databases you will need your CUNYFirst login credentials (same as Blackboard). The video below features the Education Source database. Go to the Find Journals and Articles section, look for Education Databases, to access it.

 

Now that you have logged into the Education Source database, watch "Searching the Education Source Database" for database searching information on how to find articles on barriers to change and best practices related to an issue in higher education, student retention. You will also learn how to email yourself an article in pdf format with an APA citation embedded in the email.

Now use the search plan to conduct your own search of selected journals in a database related to your research. If you have any questions about database choice or searching, you can log into the 24/7 chat service or email Lehman Education Librarian Alison Lehner-Quam (alison.lehnerquam@lehman.cuny.edu).

Search Strategies

This document provides information on using AND and OR to improve your search. It also provides tips on phrase searching using quotation marks.