Shelving Locations
Bilingual-Bicultural Literacy Collection: Books are shelved in the first two shelf ranges of the Juvenile Collection.
Juvenile Graphic Section: This section is shelved by the Library Education office (Room 318).
Identity Collection: Also shelved near Room 318.
Wordless Picture Books: Books are shelves adjacent to the Bilingual-Bicultural Literacy Collection, in the 2nd shelf range of the Juvenile Collection
Historic Children’s Books Books are shelved on the north wall of the Juvenile Collection.
Book Spine Labels
Award-winning Books: Gold dot on the spine.
Books with Spanish: Green dot on the spine.
Graphic Novels: Black and yellow tape on the spine.
Identity Collection: 1/2 orange dot on the spine.
LGBTQ Collection: Small orange dot on the spine.
Wordless Picture Books: Light green dot on the spine.
Historic Children’s Books: Blue tape on the spine.
To search for books for children and young adults at Lehman College:
Select OneSearch--Advanced Search and click on the Search Criteria arrow.
In the First Search Box type: "Juvenile Works" OR "Young Adult Works" OR "Juvenile Literature"
Searching this way will help you retrieve both eBooks and books in the library
In the Second Search Box type in a subject or theme of interest to you, e.g.:
Alphabet, Art, Baseball, Board books, Counting, Dance, Environment, Families, Grandparents, Readers, Stories in rhyme, Stories without words
You can Sort by Date (Most Recent) to find current books.
Filters:
You can Filter by Resource Type: Books to limit to Books. This will limit your results to books in Lehman's Juvenile Collection.
You can Filter by Full text Online to limit to eBooks.
Fiction
Within each classification number (e.g. PZ7) works are organized by the author’s last name.
| Classification Number | Contents |
| PZ 7 | Fiction by authors whose first works were published between 1870 and 2014 |
| PZ 7.1 | Fiction by authors whose first works are published in 2015 and beyond |
| Other PZ Class. Numbers | Contents |
| PZ 5 | Collections of works by different authors |
| PZ 7.5 | Novels in verse |
| PZ 8 | Traditional fairy tales |
| PZ 8.1 | Folklore and legends |
| PZ 8.2 | Fables |
| PZ 8.3 | Nursery rhymes and stories in rhyme |
| Higher PZ numbers | Juvenile fiction in languages other than English |
Non-Fiction
| Classification Number | Contents |
| A | General works |
| B | Philosophy. Psychology. Religion |
| C | Auxiliary sciences of history |
| D | World history and history of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc. |
| E & F | History of the Americas |
| G | Geography. Anthropology. Recreation |
| H | Social sciences |
| J & K | Political science & Law |
| L | Education |
| M & N | Music & Fine arts |
| P | Language and literature (Criticism, Plays, Short Stories, Poetry) |
| Q | Science |
| R | Medicine |
| S | Agriculture |
| T | Technology |
| U & V | Military science & Naval science |
| Z | Bibliography. Library science. Information resources |