Research Guides: Children's Books--Content Area Themes and Topics: Finding Articles, Journals, and Professional Resources

Children's Literature Journals

Click on the title to find out in which databases the journal is included.

Databases with Articles about Children's Literature

The EBSCO databases on this list (Academic Search Complete, Education Source, ERIC, Humanities Source, and Library & Information Science Source) can be combined in a single search. Log into any one of those databases and click on Choose Databases. A box with all of the Lehman EBSCO database subscriptions will open up. Select the other databases that you wish to search, and click OK.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
Education Source
Full text for over 1,700 journals, indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, full text for conference papers, and more than 550 books and monographs, and citations for over 4 million articles, including book reviews.
ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a comprehensive education database going back to 1966. It covers education research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, books, and the published journal literature from over 980 education-related periodicals, many of which are available in full-text. Most ERIC documents from 1993 to date are available in full text.
Gale Ebooks
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, dictionaries and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. it is an excellent resource for general overviews.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines, formats, and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Google Scholar sorts articles weighing the fulltext of each article, author, publication in which article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

If you encounter issues off-campus, use the regular https://scholar.google.com link.
Go to settings, select Library Links, do a search for Lehman, save it. Then perform a new search. You should see results with Full Text at Lehman.
Go to https://libguides.lehman.edu/google/scholar for more information.
Humanities Source
Authoritative resource in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought, providing access to more than 1,450 full-text journals dating back to 1907. Subjects include archaeology,
area studies, Art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy,
religion, and theology.
Library & Information Science Source
Helps librarians and researchers keep pace with latest trends in rapidly evolving field of library and information science, providing more than 430 full-text journals with coverage dating back to 1905. Subjects include automation, care and restoration of books, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright, electronic resources and ERM systems, electronic searching, government aid, library equipment and supplies, public relations, publishing, rare books, and reference services.
Literature Resource Center
The Literature Resource Center provides access to biographical, bibliographical and contextual information from the Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literacy Criticism Select databases. Also available are more than 285,000 full-text journal articles, 38,000 critical essays, 122,000 author biographies, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
Oxford Reference Online
Provides full-text access to 100+ separate reference works published by Oxford University Press. Subject areas covered: architecture, art, biology, business, classics, computer science, earth and environmental sciences, economics, English dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri, English language reference, food and nutrition, general resources, history, law, literature, mathematics, medicine, military history, modern languages, mythology and folklore, physical sciences, political science, performing arts, philosophy, religion, social sciences, and theater.
Something About the Author
Access to all volumes ever printed in Something About the Author, the main series, and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series. More than 210 volumes, more than 19,000 entries and nearly 17,000 images.

Video Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online (AVON) is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Kanopy
Streaming service that offers must-watch movies and videos, documentaries, and classic films. Includes the full Criterion Collection and selections from PBS.

How Faculty Can Request Streaming Media:

Go to Request Streaming Media
To see the current collection of subscribed titles, visit https://cuny-le.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/collectionDiscovery?vid=01CUNY_LE:CUNY_LE&collectionId=81124246680006134&lang=en
Psychotherapy.net
A streaming videos library of 50 training videos featuring the leading practitioners of the psychology field.