Economics & Business Department: Business Statistics: Data Sets

The Census Bureau data tools provide on-line access to data.

Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful.

DataPortals.org is a comprehensive list of global open data portals. It is curated by a group of leading open data experts from around the world - including representatives from local, regional and national governments, international organizations such as the World Bank, and numerous NGOs.

Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.

Search, browse, retrieve, view, map, print, and download Census data. Includes Population Finder and Fact Sheets.

This HHS site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers. Search for high-quality data by topic.

Provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

InfoShare brings together dozens of local, state and federal databases describing population, socio-economic and health conditions. It gives this information for a variety of geographic areas, allowing for profiling and comparisons of areas of your choosing.

Harmonized data on people in the U.S. census and American Community Survey, from 1850 to the present.

A research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Economic datasets.

A huge compendium of economic data from around the world. It currently includes data for 152 countries and 29 subjects.

Information on population estimates and key indicators for all members of the UN and areas with populations of or greater than 150000.

Social Explorer is a premier U.S. demographics website. Online tools help visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive

World Bank Open Data: free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.

At Yahoo Finance, you get free stock quotes, up to date news, portfolio management resources, international market data, message boards, and mortgage rates.

In order to gain access to the individual-level data, you must create an account. Descriptions of surveys and data are available without creating an account

LSMS Information Table
provides general information to help indicate which survey will best fit your needs.

FRED Economic Research: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Download, graph, and track 291,000 US and international time series from 80 sources.

U.S. Regional data; International data; Prices and Indices; Population data; Employment and Labor Markets; National Accounts.

national-level weighted indicators for specific population groups. Both sets are available for unrestricted public access on the LIS website, via download and/or through a search engine.

A Java application that allows users to design and generate cross-national descriptive tables based on the underlying LIS datasets without the need for programming. The Web Tab is available to the general public. No registration is required.

The publication is developed at the University of Oxford and covers a wide range of topics across many academic disciplines. For each topic the quality of the data is discussed and, by pointing the visitor to the sources, this website is also a database of databases.
The entire publication is freely available, the data published on the website is available for download, the visualizations published in the web publication are made available under a permissive Creative Commons license, and all the tools to publish OurWorldInData and to create the visualizations are free to use.