Research Guides: Research & Publishing Resources: Research Tools

Your Research - Saved Searches, Alerts & RSS Feeds

MyEbsco -- Setting Up A Personal Account
Scroll Down to topic in left frame.
Using Ebsco Search Alerts

In each database, REGISTER in order to SAVE search strategies, search results and to set up ALERTS.

Google Scholar
Set up a Google account. After doing search, click on "Create an e-mail alert".

JSTOR
Multi-disciplinary database containing full-text journals in disciplines such as history, economics, Asian Studies, classics, archeology, ecology, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population, sociology, and statistics, as well as core titles in African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies. Journals are complete runs, starting with the first issue through the most recent year that has been digitized so far. For more help, try out https://guides.jstor.org/ target="_blank">Research Guides for JSTOR

MyJ-STOR - Saved Searches, Alerts, etc.
Set up an account and lo into J-STOR. Save searches by filling in form on right hand side of search results.

Sage Journals Online Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, comprising over 800,000 articles. With coverage from 1999 to present for most titles, this collection covers wide range of topics including communication studies, education, health science, political science, psychology, sociology, as well as other areas of social sciences, humanities, sciences, technology, and medicine.
ScienceDirect

Science Direct - Alerts

Scopus
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.

Setting Up Alerts in Scopus

Citation Management Tools

Citation Managers allow you to electronically collect, manage and store references to books, articles, websites or other sources you find in support of your research. They also interface with your word processing program to help you insert citations into your papers, generate bibliographies and ensure that your paper is properly formatted.

The library subscribes to a reference management tool called RefWorks. This program interfaces with Microsoft Word and allows you to store citations in your own personal databases then insert those references into your papers. When you've finished typing your paper, you can tell RefWorks to format it in a standard bibliographic format. NOTE: YOU WILL NEED TO SET UP AN ACCOUNT AND DOWNLOAD AN APPLICATION TO YOUR PERSONAL COMPUTER TO USE REFWORKS.

RefWorks

Tutorials about RefWorks can be found at:

http://www.refworks.com/tutorial/

Zotero is similar to RefWorks except that it is a free, web-based application. In the words of the company, it "is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."

http://www.zotero.org

http://www.zotero.org/support/screencast_tutorials

RefWorks

Export references from databases into RefWorks and convert citations to APA, MLA, or other citation formats to create bibliographies.

Off-Campus Access

In order to use many of the Library's databases, journals, and e-books from home, you will need to log in using your active LDAP account. For students, the username is usually in the form of firstname.lastname. The password is your LDAP password. (The default LDAP password remains in effect until you change it using the website for "Self-Service Password Management," linked below.)

Faculty should user their current Lehman email ID and password.

If you are having difficulties with your LDAP username and/or password, contact the IT Center Help Desk:

Via email: helpdesk@lehman.cuny.edu
By phone: 718-960-1111
In person: Carman Hall 108

You can also access the Self-Service Password Management system to set your password.

If you need any further assistance, please contact the Library Reference Desk in person or by phone at 718-960-8580.