Databases - CHE 450 - Chemistry Seminar - Research Guides at CUNY Lehman College

Off-Campus Resources

Using E-Resources from Off-Campus
You will need an active Lehman College e-mail account.
Click on the database or e-journal you wish to access.
When prompted, type in your User ID (Firstname.Lastname) and your LDAP Default Password.

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

When reading scientific articles you may come across vocabulary you do not comprehend. These two online resources below can help you understand the concepts and words you do not know.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of online encyclopedias where you can research background information on a topic.

Oxford Reference Online
Access through Lehman is unavailable at this time.
Please access via NYPL using the link below:
https://libguides.nypl.org/oxford-reference-online
You will need an NYPL card to access. Don't have one? Sign up by going to https://www.nypl.org/library-card/new
Provides full-text access to 100+ separate reference works published by Oxford University Press. Subject areas covered: architecture, art, biology, business, classics, computer science, earth and environmental sciences, economics, English dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri, English language reference, food and nutrition, general resources, history, law, literature, mathematics, medicine, military history, modern languages, mythology and folklore, physical sciences, political science, performing arts, philosophy, religion, social sciences, and theater.

Top Chemistry Databases

American Chemical Society This link opens in a new window
Web editions of American Chemical Society journals. Over 30 full-text journals and ACS Archives back to 1879.
CAS SciFinder
CAS SciFinder is the electronic version of "Chemical Abstracts." It is the world's most current and relied upon source for chemical substance information.
Before using SciFinder Scholar Web Edition for the first time, you will need to register for an account. SciFinder Scholar Account Registration Instructions. Please note that you will need to make a browser security exception and accept the site's certificate for SciFinder Scholar to work from off-campus.
Scopus
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines, formats, and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Google Scholar sorts articles weighing the fulltext of each article, author, publication in which article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

If you encounter issues off-campus, use the regular https://scholar.google.com link.
Go to settings, select Library Links, do a search for Lehman, save it. Then perform a new search. You should see results with Full Text at Lehman.
Go to https://libguides.lehman.edu/google/scholar for more information.

Other Science Databases

ScienceDirect
Provides full-text access to over 4,000 journals primarily in areas of science, technology, social science, and medicine. The collection held by Lehman is the Freedom Collection. Click on "Browse" for lists of journals. Click on "Search" to search across journals.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of over 1600 journal titles comprising over 4 million articles. Collection focuses on science, technology, and medicine, though journals in humanities and social sciences are also present.