Databases - College Now - Summer STEM Research Program - Research Guides at CUNY Lehman College

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

When reading scientific articles you may come across vocabulary you do not comprehend. These two online resources below can help you understand the concepts and words you do not know.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of online encyclopedias where you can research background information on a topic.

Oxford Reference Online
Collection of Online dictionaries where you can look up words in articles that you do not know or understand.

Best Science Databases for Magazine and Reivew Articles

General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database that indexes articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Index also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday). Subjects covered: Astronomy, Atmospheric Science, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Conservation, Earth Science, Environment, Food, Genetics, Health, Mathematics, Medicine, Microbiology, Nutrition, Oceanography, Physics, Physiology, Zoology.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.

Best Science Databases for Primary Research Articles

SCOPUS

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines, formats, and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Google Scholar sorts articles weighing the fulltext of each article, author, publication in which article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

If you encounter issues off-campus, use the regular https://scholar.google.com link.
Go to settings, select Library Links, do a search for Lehman, save it. Then perform a new search. You should see results with Full Text at Lehman.
Go to https://libguides.lehman.edu/google/scholar for more information.

Other Science Databases

The Library databases contain authoritative articles that have been digitized to an HTML or PDF file format from original print articles.

Science Direct

Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of over 1600 journal titles comprising over 4 million articles. Collection focuses on science, technology, and medicine, though journals in humanities and social sciences are also present.
JSTOR
Multi-disciplinary database containing full-text journals in disciplines such as history, economics, Asian Studies, classics, archeology, ecology, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population, sociology, and statistics, as well as core titles in African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies. Journals are complete runs, starting with the first issue through the most recent year that has been digitized so far.
CAS SciFinder
If you want to use this online Chemistry resource you will need your advisory to log you into this database.