Research Guides: French Language and Literature: Find Articles, Journals and More

Databases

You can use library databases to find scholarly articles, reference entries, newspaper articles and other types of sources within a certain discipline. Below you will find some recommendations of useful databases for literary studies in French, along with a short description of the types of sources you can find in them.

Off-Campus Access

From off-campus, Lehman users will be prompted to log into databases, e-journals, e-books, and other subscription resources via their CUNYFirst Credentials.

Your CUNYFirst Credentials are the same as your BlackBoard Credentials. Using Firefox as your browser is recommended.

To login, enter your CUNY Login Credentials, which are you CUNYFirst or BlackBoard Credentials
You must have an active CUNY First Account
To report a problem, please select Forget Username or Forget Password
If you do not have CUNYFirst credentials and should have off-campus access, please fill the report a technical problem form

Video Tutorials: Databases

Finding a Specific Article

Databases

General Reference Database:

Gale eBooks
Contains many reference resources such as specialized encyclopedias. Good for background information on a topic.

Subject-specific Databases:

JSTOR
Contains full text journals in multiple disciplines. Results can be filtered by language.
Project Muse
Covers fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics.
Humanities Source
Articles on topics in the humanities - including literature and literary criticism
MLA International Bibliography
Provides citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly Web sites.

Érudit
Open access database with links to thousands of journal articles in French and English.

Revues-Journals

Revues littéraires et culturelles
Links to major journals in French and Francophone Studies.

Web Resources

Megalists of Online Resources

Littérature de langue française en ligne
Put together by French @ Lehman, contains many links to literary resources in French.
Ressources Internet Francophones
Published by the French Program at Lehman College since 1996.

Digital Libraries

The Digital Library of the Caribbean
Contains a variety of information resources about the Caribbean, including the Francophone Caribbean.
Gallica
Digital collections from France's National Library
Île en île
About the literature of francophone islands in the Caribbean, the Pacific and Indian Ocean. Created by Lehman College professor Thomas Spear.