Innovation: Exploring Government Information as a Community Resource

CSA is a collaboration of scientists, software developers and educators who collectively develop, manage and utilise internet-based citizen science projects in order to further science itself, and the public understanding of both science and of the scientific process.

Formally, citizen science has been defined as "the systematic collection and analysis of data; development of technology; testing of natural phenomena; and the dissemination of these activities by researchers on a primarily avocational basis". Citizen science is sometimes called "public participation in scientific research." It refers to the engagement of nonscientists in true decision-making about policy issues that have technical or scientific components; and the engagement of research scientists in the democratic and policy process. (Bruce V. Lewenstein)

OSTP mission is to to provide the President and his senior staff with accurate, relevant, and timely scientific and technical advice; to ensure that the policies of the Executive Branch are informed by sound science; and to ensure that the scientific and technical work of the Executive Branch is properly coordinated so as to provide the greatest benefit to society.

The Energy Department's mission is to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.

The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information. As the Nation's largest water, earth, and biological science and civilian mapping agency, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems.

Provides access to PubMed
Major projects : BRAIN. Human Genome Project
NLM National Library of Medicinesee also http://www.nih.gov/science/library.html

The U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Provides full text access to 77 journals. PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense. NSF funds about 20% of all R&D activities; in many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.

Research.gov is the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) grants management system that provides easy access to research-related information and grants management services in one location.

Grants.gov is your source to FIND and APPLY for federal grants.

The nation's online portal for education and research on learning in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.