Research Guides: TESOL: Get Background Information

Research Begins

Good Starting Points for Research:

Encyclopedias and handbooks have excellent background articles with bibliographies.
Use these books for definitions and to find vocubulary for search terms.

Overview & Background Information

Credo Reference Source
Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Gale Ebooks
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, dictionaries and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. it is an excellent resource for general overviews.

Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks are excellent sources to get an introduction or overview on a topic, and to find search terms.

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
Encyclopedia of Education
more...less...
Enter your Lehman I.D. and Password for access from off-campus.
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media

Handbooks on Bilingual Education

Located on the 3rd Floor of Leonard Lief Library

Encyclopedia of bilingual education / edited by Josue Gonzalez. Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2008. Lehman College Education Reference LC3707 .E523 2008 v.1-2 Non Circulating

Handbook of early childhood literacy. London : SAGE, 2003. Lehman College Education Reference - LB1139.5 .L35 H36 2003

Handbook of research on literacy and diversity / edited by Lesley Mandel Morrow, Robert Rueda, and Diane Lapp. New York : Guilford Press, c2009. Lehman College Education Reference LB1576 .H2337 2009 Non Circulating

Rethinking identity and literacy education in the 21st century / edited by Sandra Schamroth Abrams and Jennifer Rowsell. New York : Teachers College, Columbia University [2011]. Lehman College Education Reference LB5 .N25 110th pt. 1 Non Circulating