Skip to Main Content

Special Education

This guide provides an overview of special education resources located through the Leonard Lief Library at Lehman College.

Research on Special Education

Good Starting Points for Research:

  • Encyclopedias and handbooks have excellent background articles with bibliographies.
  • Use these books for definitions and to find vocubulary for search terms.

Overview & Background Information

Encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks are excellent sources to get an introduction or overview on a topic, and to find search terms.

Handbooks on Special Education in Library

Located on the 3rd Floor of the Leonard Lief Library

Advances in special education / edited by Anthony F. Rotatori, (Festus E. Obiakor, and Jeffrey P. Bakken). Bingley, UK : Emerald Group Publishing Limited, 2011. Lehman College Education Reference LC3950 .A36 Non Circulating

Handbook of language and literacy : development and disorders / edited by C. Addison Stone... [et al.]. New York : Guilford Press, c2004. Lehman College Education Reference LC149 .H27 2004 Non Circulating

Handbook of learning disabilities / edited by H. Lee Swanson, Karen R. Harris, Steve Graham. New York : Guilford Press, c2003. Lehman College Education Reference LC4704 .H364 2003 Non Circulating

Handbook of special and remedial education : research and practice / edited by Margaret C. Wang, Maynard C. Reynolds, and Herbert J. Walberg. Oxford, OX, UK ; Tarrytown, NY, USA : Pergamon, 1995. Lehman College Education Reference LC3965 .H263 1995 Non Circulating