Research Guides: Chemistry: Web Resources

Professional Societies

SciTopics

SciTopics

SciTopics is a free, wiki-like knowledge-sharing service for the scientific community, providing a concise summary of a specific scientific topic, which is especially useful for topics outside one's area of expertise. SciTopics is designed to be a starting point for researchers to gain an introductory overview of a particular topic, while also identifying sources for a more in-depth analysis and coverage of that topic

SciTopics pages on Chemistry

Chemical Heritage Foundation

Chemical Heritage Foundation (CHF)
An independent, nonprofit organization Chemical Heritage Foundation (CHF) maintains major collections of instruments, fine art, photographs, papers, and books. We host conferences and lectures, support research, offer fellowships, and produce educational materials in subjects ranging from alchemy to nanotechnology.

Internet Sources

ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free collection of compound data from across the web, provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC). It aggregates chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository. ChemSpider builds on the collected sources by adding additional properties, related information and links back to original data sources. ChemSpider SyntheticPages, CS|SP, extends this model to cover reactions, providing quick publication, peer review and semantic enhancement
WebElements Periodic Table
Offers information about elements based on the periodic table. The "professional edition" portion of the site provides data about physical, electronic, and nuclear properties as well as information about abundance, use, and more. The "scholar edition" presents similar information in a more accessible style. The site is maintained by Mark Winter at the University of Sheffield.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Provides chemical structure and thermochemical data for over 6,500 organic and small inorganic compounds and over 9,800 reactions as well as a variety of spectra data. A service of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the site is searchable by physical property, name, formula, and more.
PubChem
PubChem is a freely accessible database created by NIH to provide information about small organic molecules, designed for use as a research tool and a starting point for development of new medications. The database connects chemical information with biomedical research and clinical information.
more...less...
PubChem Compound Database (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pccompound) contains validated chemical depiction information provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pcsubstance).
Scitopia.org
Scitopia.org is a free federated search tool for scholarly literature of various leading science and technology publishers. Scitopia.org searches the entire electronic libraries in major science and technology disciplines and provides relevant results, without the noise of other Internet search engines.
Science.gov
A portal for science information from the U.S. government. The site includes cross-searching of 30 databases as well as links to science pages contributed by 12 federal agencies. It offers an advanced search as well as a browsable directory of resources by topic.
Science.gov : Physics and Chemistry
Virtual Journals in Science and Technology
Jointly developed by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Physical Society (APS), the Virtual Journals series is an online collection of relevant papers from a broad range of source journals in the physical sciences. Papers are selected from all journals published by APS and AIP, plus a number of journals from other publishers.