Research Guides: Juvenile Literature: Databases

Literature for Children & Young Adults

Gale Literature
A gateway to several literary databases including Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, MLA, GVRL and Something about the Author Online.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography. It also includes content from Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography, Biographies from Columbia University Press, Congressional biographies from American Reference Library, Biographies from Encyclopedia Britannica, Hutchinson's Biography Database, Profiles of United States presidents and, Biographies from Salem Press.
Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new window
Book Review Digest Plus includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, plus all the book review citations and full text of book reviews from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes, including Readers Guide to Periodical Literature and Education Index.
Literature Resource Center
The Literature Resource Center provides access to biographical, bibliographical and contextual information from the Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literacy Criticism Select databases. Also available are more than 285,000 full-text journal articles, 38,000 critical essays, 122,000 author biographies, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
Education Source
Full text for over 1,700 journals, indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, full text for conference papers, and more than 550 books and monographs, and citations for over 4 million articles, including book reviews.
ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a comprehensive education database going back to 1966. It covers education research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, books, and the published journal literature from over 980 education-related periodicals, many of which are available in full-text. Most ERIC documents from 1993 to date are available in full text.
History Makers Digital Archive
Since 1999, The HistoryMakers has been recording African American oral histories to refashion a more inclusive record of American history and to educate and enlighten millions worldwide.
JSTOR
Multi-disciplinary database containing full-text journals in disciplines such as history, economics, Asian Studies, classics, archeology, ecology, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population, sociology, and statistics, as well as core titles in African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle Eastern Studies. Journals are complete runs, starting with the first issue through the most recent year that has been digitized so far.
Library & Information Science Source
Helps librarians and researchers keep pace with latest trends in rapidly evolving field of library and information science, providing more than 430 full-text journals with coverage dating back to 1905. Subjects include automation, care and restoration of books, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright, electronic resources and ERM systems, electronic searching, government aid, library equipment and supplies, public relations, publishing, rare books, and reference services.
Project Muse
Offers nearly 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Watch a recorded demo of Sage Research Methods through the link below:

Sage Research Methods

Video Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online (AVON) is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Kanopy
Streaming service that offers must-watch movies and videos, documentaries, and classic films. Includes the full Criterion Collection and selections from PBS.

How Faculty Can Request Streaming Media:

Go to Request Streaming Media
To see the current collection of subscribed titles, visit https://cuny-le.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/collectionDiscovery?vid=01CUNY_LE:CUNY_LE&collectionId=81124246680006134&lang=en
Psychotherapy.net
A streaming videos library of 50 training videos featuring the leading practitioners of the psychology field.

Finding Databases

Go to Library website

Click on Databases and then

Search by Database Name, Subject or Vendor in the search box

OR select Browse Databases A-Z to browse the list of databases

Juvenile Literature

Children's Literature Journals

Literature for Children & Young Adults

Databases

Video Databases

Finding Databases

Academic Journal? Scholarly Article? Article Database?