Research Guides: Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences: Databases

Speech-Language-Hearing Science Databases

ComDisDome
Communication Disorders Dome: An indexing and abstracting database covering the communications disorders literature, with a focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.

PubMed (Medline)
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Linguistics and Language Behavior (ProQuest)
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
This resource incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other top journals in communication and media studies.

Medline Complete (EBSCO)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete is a comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for 750 journals and 240 books with full-text coverage dating back to 1937.
Offers access to nursing dissertations, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheets, research instruments, educational software, and audiovisuals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals included.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
Cochrane Library
Contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, brings the combined results of the worlds best medical research studies, and are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.

Education Source (EBSCO)
Provides comprehensive indexing of an international range of English-language, education-related periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks as far back as 1983. The full text is available online for many articles dating from 1996 to the present.
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is the most comprehensive education database going back to 1966. It covers education research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, books, and the published journal literature from over 980 education-related periodicals, many of which are available in full-text.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic (EBSCO)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals.
Health Reference Center Academic
InfoTrac's Health Reference Center-Academic: covers Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Alcohol and Drug abuse. Coverage: 1980-present.
InfoShare
InfoShare brings together dozens of local, state and federal databases describing population, socio-economic and health conditions. It gives this information for a variety of geographic areas, allowing for profiling and comparisons of areas of your choosing.
MedLinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
Merck Manual (Diagnosis and Therapy) Professional Edition
A great tool for information on medical conditions; browse by condition or by patient symptoms.
Nursing Collection II: Lippincott Premier Nursing Journals
Forty-seven journals in the fields of clinical medicine, health professions, nursing and public health including the journal, Topics in Language Disorders. Every word is searchable, including references. Also gives access to “Similar” and “Cited Articles” in the Journals@OVID database.
Science Direct
Access to 765 full-text journals covering scientific, technical and medical research. Click on "Browse" for lists of journals.
PsycArticles
This database provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1987 to the present.
PsycInfo
Provides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,500 journals from over 50 countries. This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Other Databases

Gale Ebooks
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, dictionaries and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. it is an excellent resource for general overviews.
Opposing Viewpoints
Provides a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences

24/7 Help

Off-Campus Access

Speech-Language-Hearing Science Databases

Other Databases